Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-31-2012, 03:48 PM   #1

Share |

First Time Dealing With A Contractor

Can you all please give me some insight here.

My father in law has a flat roof on his 22x22 garage and he has been talking about adding a pitch to it to help with pooling water. Typically I would help him out but a project such as this would require more free time than I have. So he called up a friend of his that is a contractor and has worked with in the past. Now personally I have worked for an engineer for 7 years, went to school for engineering, working on becoming licensed, and know the construction process and how how it all works.. So he came out to meet with us, and I told him what I did for a living and he asked me if I wanted to engineer a design, and I didnt think it would be necessary for such a small job. He then said he would come up with a quote and design and email it over to my father in law for review, who then responded saying he wanted me to look at it.

I looked at the design and it didnt make since to me, so I wrote back and asked why he is doing what he is doing, also his quote was $13,500 not including taxes or permits so I asked if he could simply break it down more to get an idea on what the materials cost is vs the labor cost (thats it, nothing more nothing less, and I was very professional about the whole thing)