Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-17-2008, 08:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Finishing a basement


I am in the process of finishing a basement and I have an I-beam supporting the garage floor above. The I-beam has one support and of course, it is in the center of the room. The I-beam is 20 feet long and rests on notches in a poured concrete foundation. Can I move the beam out of the center of the room and place floor jacks 3'-4' off of each wall for a max span of 12'-14' in the center? This will make for a roomier finished basement. What is the maximum span and what is the proper way to determine capacity for my beam? The only weight above is a 2 car garage, no inhabited house structure, but I don't want to park my cars in the basement if you know what I mean. Thank you.

Last edited by orbitking; 01-17-2008 at 08:30 PM. Reason: add picture
orbitking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 08:11 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,935
Default

Finishing a basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by orbitking View Post
I am in the process of finishing a basement and I have an I-beam supporting the garage floor above. The I-beam has one support and of course, it is in the center of the room. The I-beam is 20 feet long and rests on notches in a poured concrete foundation. Can I move the beam out of the center of the room and place floor jacks 3'-4' off of each wall for a max span of 12'-14' in the center? This will make for a roomier finished basement. What is the maximum span and what is the proper way to determine capacity for my beam? The only weight above is a 2 car garage, no inhabited house structure, but I don't want to park my cars in the basement if you know what I mean. Thank you.
When was your Homeowner's Insurance last paid?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 03:45 AM   #3
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Default

Finishing a basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by orbitking View Post
...The only weight above is a 2 car garage...
Oh, is that all?

Don't forget your: several tons of automobiles/trucks, re-inforced concrete, your live-load when people are present in the garage, dead load of the structure and anything else stored in the area, snow load (if in such a region) ...

That beam cannot be moved. It is part of the overall structure and is integral in it's support.

Looks like you might want to try and incorporate it into your designs.

Other than that, your other options are to:

a.) Sell your home and buy a new house with a basement that works for your needs.
b.) Tear down the entire garage, including the reinforced concrete floor, and rebuild it to accomodate a roomier basement.

Last edited by AtlanticWBConst.; 01-18-2008 at 03:55 AM.
AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 06:49 AM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,935
Default

Finishing a basement


I personally, would love to see him move a couple of tons of steel without a crane.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 07:47 AM   #5
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Default

Finishing a basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
I personally, would love to see him move a couple of tons of steel without a crane.
Actually, it wouldn't be that hard to move.

Tho, it would be only in one direction... DOWN... with the help of everything on top of it.
AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 07:56 AM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,935
Default

Finishing a basement


Sort of like this. My Brother in Law used Pre-Stressed Concrete panels for his Garage, so that I-Beams would not have to be used in the basement level.
Attached Thumbnails
Finishing a basement-56463002_9e01427d2b.jpg  
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 10:44 AM   #7
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Default

Finishing a basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Sort of like this. My Brother in Law used Pre-Stressed Concrete panels for his Garage, so that I-Beams would not have to be used in the basement level.
Dang! Who said a picture was worth a thousand words? Looks like you have a credit of 970 words towards your next post.
RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 11:51 AM   #8
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,935
Default

Finishing a basement


And that is not even my Brother-in-laws basement or Garage, just an example for the OP. The floor panels that where used in my B-I-L's construction are the same that are used in quick-lube places where you do not want beams and posts under the floor. They did put about 4" of concrete on top of the panels after underfloor heating was installed. The total height of his is something like 8-10" and can hold a Dually.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 08:04 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Finishing a basement


It is not the entire beam I want to move. I mis-spoke. It is only the support underneath. I have spoken to a structural engineer who stated that it would be possible to get rid of the support pole and put 2 supports closer to the exterior walls, as long as the new span did not exceed the original span of 11 feet. The new floor jacks would have to be placed on a poured footer in order to be supported properly from underneath. Sorry for the misunderstanding on original thread, would love some CONSTRUCTIVE feedback. Thanks.
orbitking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 11:43 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,134
Default

Finishing a basement


Constructively, fire the electrician that ran that conduit. I would wrap the pole and use it as a feature, since any alternative will cost serious money and may become an issue when you sell the home.
Tscarborough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 10:09 PM   #11
weekend warrior
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ohio
Posts: 186
Default

Finishing a basement


I'm sure it's doable, you can throw money at any problem and make it go away, but you'll have to have an engineer or someone qualified to check it out in person, ya know?

It is a pretty lousy place for a beam, damn gravity...
Is it worth having two beams instead, and possibly having less headroom if they have to strengthen it?
johnny331 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 07:38 AM   #12
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Default

Finishing a basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by orbitking View Post
It is not the entire beam I want to move. I mis-spoke. It is only the support underneath. I have spoken to a structural engineer who stated that it would be possible to get rid of the support pole and put 2 supports closer to the exterior walls, as long as the new span did not exceed the original span of 11 feet. The new floor jacks would have to be placed on a poured footer in order to be supported properly from underneath. Sorry for the misunderstanding on original thread, would love some CONSTRUCTIVE feedback. Thanks.
For starters:
Have a structural engineer actually look at it, get a written evaluation and approval on it. Get the spec'd footing dimensions too. Those will require spec information on weight loads.

...Then, pull your permit...cut the concrete out at the designated structurally-required locations (Concrete blade on a skill saw with water sprayer handy), dig the holes, get your ''forms'' inspection, & pour the new footings (per spec dimensions) & install the new concrete filled lalley's on your new footings, etc...

Last: remove old support post and toss accordingly...

Last edited by AtlanticWBConst.; 01-23-2008 at 07:46 AM.
AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement finishing smallcrpt Remodeling 18 11-12-2007 05:27 AM
finishing my basement Questions handyman1355 Building & Construction 4 10-18-2007 09:03 PM
How to 'start' finishing the basement... mcvane Building & Construction 18 06-04-2007 08:28 AM
Finishing Basement, How to run a heat duct? hyper Remodeling 6 02-23-2007 03:46 PM
Finishing basement - electrical code ??? normwannabe Electrical 1 01-23-2006 07:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.