Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-02-2014, 12:01 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Finish carpentry labor cost

Hello everyone. Im a finish carpenter and i would like too do a labor cost check. Im trying to get an idea of what others are charging for finish work so i can be sure im in the same ballpark. For example how much for installing base, casing, doors ( interior and exterior) window sills, stair skirts and so on. Thanks in advance

logan91077 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014, 01:19 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 58

This might help some- but ultimately it's what you think you should charge to make a living at it or what you value your skills at. Not what the lowballer charges
"How much will it cost?" Asking for price estimates here.

Old 02-02-2014, 05:27 AM   #3
DIY staff

Rewards Points: 92

Boy, it would be nice if there was a 'going rate' book---

However--the 'going rate' seldom works---You need to learn to estimate the time involved with every phase of your work---including sales---

I bid one crown molding job----cheap-o customer---she kept telling me a neighbor
paid $3.50 a foot and wanted my 'per foot' rate.

I could not help her--I bid the job and did my math---then divided the number by the number of corners---that's a better way than 'per foot' in my experience.

I did not get the job---nor would I have taken it if she accepted my price---

Learn to bid by--labor--material--overhead and profit.---there is no magic 'going rate' book.----sorry
Old 02-02-2014, 07:07 AM   #4

Craftsman books has some programs that are pretty good as far as getting you in the ballpark. The thing is there are so many regional differences in pricing nobody can really give you a number.
ToolSeeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014, 07:26 AM   #5
MarginallyQualified

Quote:
Originally Posted by logan91077 View Post