Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-09-2007, 04:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

fence placement


I know this question is going to seem really ignorant but I have to ask it anyway. I just bought my first house and want to install my privacy fence. There is a 10' utility easement along the rear property line. My question is this. Does that mean that I have to place the fencing 10' from the property line? Or is that for permanent structures?

1sthome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 08:44 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,881
Default

fence placement


Check with your village or city, due to that will give you the criterias of where the fencing is placed. Matter of fact, are there other home owners around you with fencing already in place, or not? That would be a clue as to where the fencing can be placed.

gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 08:55 PM   #3
remodeling pro
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,399
Default

fence placement


If the easement is within you property line, you can put your fence on the property line, but the utility will probably not replace it if they have to remove it for access to the servitude. If you build anything of a permanent nature within the servitude, they are within their rights to demand that you remove it at your expense or they will destroy it when they need access. If it is a situation where there is a servitude between the backs of properties, and you encroach into it with your fence, they will demand that you remove it.
troubleseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 08:46 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Default

fence placement


The neighbor to the left has a fence installed but the lots are irregular so my lot is further back than his lot. So I really dont have a reference line.

That is what I was thinking, that I could put it on the property line but if they had to remove the fence, it would be at my expense.

Thank you both.
1sthome is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"T"-ing off of neighbours' fence? curls00 Carpentry 6 01-10-2009 03:39 PM
Height of Fence = Height of Posts Necessary Dallas Building & Construction 2 11-05-2007 09:47 AM
Fence problems-Cement or No Cement WBMill Landscaping & Lawn Care 8 06-17-2007 02:36 PM
Fence Post Problem cdubim Building & Construction 3 03-12-2007 01:09 PM
Fence Bid - A Rip-Off ??? kenziekiss Building & Construction 7 12-31-2006 07:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.