Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-15-2011, 06:48 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 150

F-150 towing

I have a 2010 which is rated to tow 7,700 lbs, I want to tow a pontoon boat that weighs 2,200 lbs plus passenger weight and gear which will put my total at or about 3,500 lbs. Should I or do I need to have electric brakes installed to be safe?

econdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 06:56 PM   #2
A Little Of Everything

Rewards Points: 1,068

F-150 towing

Quote:
Originally Posted by econdave View Post
I have a 2010 which is rated to tow 7,700 lbs, I want to tow a pontoon boat that weighs 2,200 lbs plus passenger weight and gear which will put my total at or about 3,500 lbs. Should I or do I need to have electric brakes installed to be safe?
I won't speak to the specifics. I'm not an engineer.

But if it was my rig, I'd get the electric brakes. A couple hundred bucks to insure better braking on $50,000 worth of stuff seems like a good idea to me.

DrHicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 07:37 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 1,002

F-150 towing

Dave,
up here in Ohio they used to require brakes on any trailer over 2000 lbs. I would definitely go the brake route. You want to be able to stop when you need to.
Mike Hawkins
firehawkmph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 08:27 PM   #4
A Little Of Everything

Rewards Points: 1,068

F-150 towing

Quote:
Originally Posted by firehawkmph View Post
Dave,
up here in Ohio they used to require brakes on any trailer over 2000 lbs. I would definitely go the brake route. You want to be able to stop when you need to.
Mike Hawkins
Hey Mike -

Nothing about towing here, but I've just looked at the pictures of some of your projects. Holy crap man, you do INCREDIBLE work! VERY impressive!
DrHicks is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DrHicks For This Useful Post: