Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-10-2010, 02:44 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

Electrical Outlet and Light switches HOT


Hello,

Just had a problem where my 15 amp outlet just blew. So I went and replaced it with another 15 amp outlet and now every outlet in the room is hot. I should have one outlet in each on switch only. Not sure what I am missing. I know it is an easy fix just not sure where.

Thanks for any help you can provide

MicahDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 02:59 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Electrical Outlet and Light switches HOT


Quote:
Originally Posted by MicahDog View Post
Hello,

Just had a problem where my 15 amp outlet just blew. So I went and replaced it with another 15 amp outlet and now every outlet in the room is hot. I should have one outlet in each on switch only. Not sure what I am missing. I know it is an easy fix just not sure where.

Thanks for any help you can provide
What do you mean the outlet "blew"?
"I should have one outlet in each on switch only." What does this mean? Is every outlet controlled by a switch?
Ron

Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 03:02 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Electrical Outlet and Light switches HOT


Most likely you had one 1/2 of that outlet controlled by the switch
Usually this means the hot side the little tab is broken off between the screws
Take a look at the old outlet
Or you wired something wrong
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 03:59 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Electrical Outlet and Light switches HOT


Yep thanks it was the tab. I wish they would put that somewhere on the box.

thanks
MicahDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
adding outlet from light switch tad Electrical 17 06-05-2009 11:25 PM
Bedrooms have no ceiling light, light switch controls one electrical outlet? notenoughtime Electrical 16 05-25-2009 12:09 AM
Adding Ceiling Light From Switched Outlet vboz5 General DIY Discussions 2 03-04-2009 12:53 PM
Adding new ceiling light in place of switched outlet XavierG35 Electrical 2 02-13-2008 09:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.