Creating A Hole In The Wall To Run Wires, A Good Idea? - General DIY Discussions - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-2009, 10:12 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Massachusetts.
Posts: 310
Rewards Points: 260
Default

Creating a hole in the wall to run wires, a good idea?


I've been trying to figure out a way to get the wires from the tv to the basement where the media stuff is but I'm stumped so I'm thinking the best way is to make a small 2x2 inch hole on the bottom of the wall so I can fish the wire through the floor boards and then up to the tv(behind the wall there is a hole already). Is this a good idea, I have a patch kit but I'm wondering if there is possibly an better approach to this?
Attached Thumbnails
Creating a hole in the wall to run wires, a good idea?-img_0035.jpg  

Advertisement

RyanD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 10:28 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Creating a hole in the wall to run wires, a good idea?


Drill up from the basement into the stud bay. Drive a snake up to the hole you have behind the TV.
Ron

Advertisement

Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 12:57 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Creating a hole in the wall to run wires, a good idea?


I have seen AV wiring kits at home improvement stores that include wall plates for making these holes in the drywall look like they belong there.

Kirk
kirkl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 01:00 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Massachusetts.
Posts: 310
Rewards Points: 260
Default

Creating a hole in the wall to run wires, a good idea?


I'm hoping there is enough wire going to the outlet from the switch(if that's where it comes from) to move the outlet up behind the tv. If I do that then I can use that hole anyways before I patch it. I'm going to try and drill up through the floor tonight, what's the best way to try and measure where I should drill up to get as close to the center of the wall as possible?
RyanD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 01:59 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Creating a hole in the wall to run wires, a good idea?


Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanD View Post
I'm hoping there is enough wire going to the outlet from the switch(if that's where it comes from) to move the outlet up behind the tv. If I do that then I can use that hole anyways before I patch it. I'm going to try and drill up through the floor tonight, what's the best way to try and measure where I should drill up to get as close to the center of the wall as possible?
You drill up so the wire goes into the stud bay you want it to.
Leave the wall outlet where it is. Open the box,pull out the outlet and punch out one of the top knock outs. Push your snake up the wall where the hole for the TV outlet will be. Attach piece of romex and pull it back down into the box. Make the connections and your done.
You should be able to run all your wires from the outlet box behind the TV. There's no need to open any other holes in the wall.
You can't move that lower outlet in any case. The wires are stapled to the studs and are drawn through holes in the framing.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 03:47 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Massachusetts.
Posts: 310
Rewards Points: 260
Default

Creating a hole in the wall to run wires, a good idea?


The part is I don't know where to drill up from the basement. I'm going to have to measure from walls or something to get a baring on where that wall is and then try to drill up between the wall and not in front or behind.
RyanD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 04:30 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Creating a hole in the wall to run wires, a good idea?


Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanD View Post
The part is I don't know where to drill up from the basement. I'm going to have to measure from walls or something to get a baring on where that wall is and then try to drill up between the wall and not in front or behind.
You can take a very small diameter drill bit, say 1/16", and slowly drill in at the very bottom of the base molding, where it hits the floor. Drill it at a 45 degree angle towards the wall. The bit needs to belong enough to get through 1 1/2" of material. When you're through the floor, insert a thin wire into the hole. Go in the basement and find the wire. The hole represents the wall edge. Move in about 2" and drill the hole for the wires you want to run.
Make sure you drill the hole on the correct side of the wire.
Ron

Advertisement

Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hole in wall... dcormann General DIY Discussions 3 03-30-2009 04:58 PM
Creating a soundproof wall question acyate Building & Construction 19 02-23-2009 10:10 PM
Hole in Cinder Block Wall for Small Air Conditioner stevehgraham Building & Construction 1 02-20-2009 07:31 AM
SLATWALL storage solution for Garage, Good Idea?... KUIPORNG General DIY Discussions 9 01-29-2008 10:15 PM
Atlantic-need your opinion on markd's comments about my vapor barrier? yummy mummy Building & Construction 11 03-07-2007 10:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts