Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-19-2008, 10:53 PM   #1

Share |

Crawlspace Ventilation

Howdy, I'm a new member, but will become a regular contributor I believe. I grew up hands on with my father who was a farmer, so I'm not a newbie, but by no means I also question myself sometimes, which is why I'm here. I live in the deep south and recently purchased a 50+ year-old home that is technically in a flood zone, but I've no worries about that, I'm up high. I'm just trying to keep the water draining around the home and evaporating out from under my wooden foundation. The previous owners were some real brainiacs, they thought they'd plug up the existing brick vent holes with concrete to keep the water from coming in. I don't think it occurred to them that you're crawspace has to breathe. Anyway, I've ordered ten temp-vents to remedy the problem, but 4 of the vent areas on the front of the house look like their low enough to the ground to demand vent wells, which from what I've priced are quite expensive, all around the $60 range, the plastic ones. Any suggestions on building something myself? Any experience with this at all? I only need to do four of these. This price just seems too much for a round piece of plastic. I was fine spending the $25 a pop for the vent, just would like another solution if you have one. Thanks for any suggestions. Much love out there. Happy Holidays! ~C

cbrown8995 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 11:41 PM   #2

Crawlspace Ventilation

Rolled steel window wells would be pretty inexpensive. Interlocking pavestone wall blocks would also allow you to dig down and build a window well of sorts. Treated landscape timbers would also do the trick, pinned together with rebar to form a well.

Welcome to DIY Chatroom!

Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 12:06 AM   #3

Crawlspace Ventilation