Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-24-2010, 03:32 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: north east
Posts: 728
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

craftsman garage opener


had a storm move through last night, at most, lights blipped a little, meaning micro clock had to be reset but stove clock was okay. Garage door opened from wall control friday evening. today, it just blinks rapidly. Door will work with the remote, no problem. Found manual on line, for said problem, if light is NOT on at remote, remove remote wires, place a wire on said two screws, see if door goes down. Yes, it went down, only my light was blinking at the remote. If all went as stated, there is a short in the door sensor or wire. I'm asking if I should just replace as I go,, first the wire, then sensors, then wall control...... I really, really like having the use of the wall control. Thanks for any input.......

__________________
LIVING THE DREAM
DUDE! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 04:41 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 0
Default

craftsman garage opener


Remove the wire from the wall control and touch them together. If the door goes up, the control needs to be replaced. If it doesn't, remove the wires from the opener and install a pigtail and try touching them together. If the door goes up, it's the wiring. If nothing happens in either case, the circuit board in the opener might have a blown component.
Electronics are susceptible to electric storms. You can install a whole house surge protector to help reduce costly events. I would also install individual surge protectors on items that are at risk. It's cheap insurance.
Repairing or replacing the unit might be in the cards, depending on it's age.
Ron

Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ron6519 For This Useful Post:
DUDE! (07-24-2010)
Old 07-24-2010, 05:16 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: north east
Posts: 728
Rewards Points: 0
Default

craftsman garage opener


Thank you Sir for your help and quick reply. I had jumped the wires off the head and the door would open. Hadn't thought to jump them off the wall control,, when I did, the door would work, so I'll order up a new wall unit. The day has just gotten better,,,,,, thanks
__________________
LIVING THE DREAM
DUDE! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 02:48 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: north east
Posts: 728
Rewards Points: 0
Default

craftsman garage opener


after some confusion on whether I actually ordered the part or not, the new wall control unit arrived. I put it on and presto, back in business. Thanks
__________________
LIVING THE DREAM
DUDE! is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Craftsman Garage Door Opener Isn't Working Right? TimmyG General DIY Discussions 4 04-18-2010 02:11 PM
Replacing garage door opener? Need some input.. tripflex General DIY Discussions 7 12-15-2009 03:59 PM
Garage Door Opener Saga- Why DIY does NOT mean so-easy-anyone-can-do-it Leah Frances General DIY Discussions 6 12-14-2008 02:04 AM
Craftsman garage opener freeonthree Electrical 2 11-01-2008 03:32 PM
Garage Door Opener - Noisy on Closing ? quantass Electrical 2 02-13-2006 02:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.