Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-10-2012, 04:11 PM   #1

Share |

concrete slab for a hot tub

hello, i am a newbie to this site so i hope i am posting my question in the correct place and thanks in advance for any help you can give.
i need advice on how to pour a slab for a hot tub. the slab will be 11' circular on a slope. the slope will be 16" from level at its max. the circle is already shaped with landscape stones (the kind that lock in place and angle inward as you stack them).
My question is: Can i use the landscape stones as the form to hold in the concrete when it is poured? I know i will need to backfill with gravel to make level but not sure if the stone wall will hold in place, or i need to remove it and use wood for the forms?
Thanks.

rodu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 04:45 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor

How ever you do it, don't forget to leave som rebar exposed for the hot tub bond.

Old 01-10-2012, 05:04 PM   #3

hot tube bond......is that referring to the electrical bond???
Old 01-10-2012, 05:33 PM   #4
A Little Of Everything

Quote:
Originally Posted by rodu View Post
hello, i am a newbie to this site so i hope i am posting my question in the correct place and thanks in advance for any help you can give.
i need advice on how to pour a slab for a hot tub. the slab will be 11' circular on a slope. the slope will be 16" from level at its max. the circle is already shaped with landscape stones (the kind that lock in place and angle inward as you stack them).
My question is: Can i use the landscape stones as the form to hold in the concrete when it is poured? I know i will need to backfill with gravel to make level but not sure if the stone wall will hold in place, or i need to remove it and use wood for the forms?
Thanks.
You need to use wood for the forms - or rented steel concrete forms.