Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-06-2010, 12:19 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 352
Share |
Default

Computer Question about "popups"


I have Popup blocker and I very seldom have one get through. However, lately, I can be in a web site or Mail and a new Google home page pops up. Other times "Lycos Yellow Pages", "MonsterMarketPlace" and yesterday "Chanel 6 News" wanting me to participate in a servay. This is only a few and I have checked my settings as best I know how and everything checks out OK.
Any suggestions would be welcome.

Giles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 08:02 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 352
Default

Computer Question about "popups"


I don't know a lot about computers, so bear with me in my explaination.
I have a dell computer with windows xp.
I have latest edition of AVG
I have malwarebites.
I have run a full system scan and checked for malware.
Nothing showed up.
It appears to me, for some reason, that it is coming from Google. I just clicked on your reply and Chanel 6 News poped up with a "Muscle Shoals Alabama Job Report" and testemonials for a job to work at home!
I live in the Muscle Shoals area.

Giles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 09:53 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Default

Computer Question about "popups"


I'm running Firefox ver 3.6.3 (latest) and have an add-on called "adblock plus" which is free for Firefox (I don't think it is available for IE), and so far it has been the best pop-up blocker I have ever used.
I've also got an add-on called FlashBlock, which blocks those silly and annoying animated ads. I can add sites that get through to the block list by right-clicking.

I have been running Firefox since the first version, and it has become my browser of choice.

FW
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 06:33 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 352
Default

Computer Question about "popups"


Quote:
Originally Posted by OnThePike View Post
When you say it's "coming from Google", does that mean you're using Google Chrome as your browser? What browser are you using?

You may have, at one time, inadvertantly allowed a popup from a site that is now whitelisted and will continue to do so. But if you clicked on a link from this forum and received a popup, the problem might be with some application on your PC or the browser you are using.

Try a different browser (IE, Firefox, Chrome, Opera, etc) and test whether or not you receive popups, and from where.

Check your current popup settings. Clear any popups you have allowed (whitelisted).

If none of these work, download Hijack This http://free.antivirus.com/hijackthis/

Install it and save a log file. Post the log file here (if txt files are allowed). I'll review your scan and see if there's anything there that you might not want running. And we'll go from there.
My computer shut completly down---I did as was suggested, in SAFE MODE, ran malware again, and run a full scan with AVG. My son suggested that I run a free version of Superantispyware, which I did, and Google had been hyjacked.
All seems to be good for now and I really appreciate your suggestions and offer to further assist me
Giles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 06:51 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 1,722
Default

Computer Question about "popups"


Giles, run your malwarebytes and see if you have anything called trojan dns changer it doesn't sound like what I had but if it is, it infected my wireless router. It had the computer guy stumped for the better part of last Friday looking for it in the computer when it was in the router. You have to password protect your router to keep it out.
Jim F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 07:21 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 352
Default

Computer Question about "popups"


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim F View Post
Giles, run your malwarebytes and see if you have anything called trojan dns changer it doesn't sound like what I had but if it is, it infected my wireless router. It had the computer guy stumped for the better part of last Friday looking for it in the computer when it was in the router. You have to password protect your router to keep it out.
THANKS---I will do that. My laptop, used mostly by my wife, has also been giving "fits". It operates from a wireless router. She took it to the dealer and he told her it was infested!
Giles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 01:37 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 208
Default

Computer Question about "popups"


Every browser nowadays have addons or extensions to prevent popups, and they work well. If popups still appear on your computer, it might be have a virus, or trojan. Scan your computer with some antivirus programs, since a program sometimes cannot defect some viruses, while others can, and reversely.
MagicalHome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 09:27 PM   #8
Member
 
jlhaslip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canadian Rockies
Posts: 1,280
Default

Computer Question about "popups"


Linux with firefox and adblocker here. No issxues.

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud Cline View Post
Go ahead and apply for a variance, those guys at City Hall can use a good laugh.
jlhaslip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To my computer geeks InPhase277 PC Repairs & Upgrades 22 04-29-2009 06:51 AM
A question about water preassure. reasonforseason Plumbing 5 04-14-2009 04:36 PM
Another VISTA O/S question YerDugliness PC Repairs & Upgrades 11 12-04-2008 07:13 AM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
grounding to water pipe question eastvantrading Electrical 6 12-20-2006 09:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.