Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-12-2012, 09:08 AM   #1
Jack of all - master none
 
hyunelan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,195
Share |
Default

CO detector - what's good?


It occurred to me about a week ago that my house does not have a CO detector. Even though by Illinois law, it should have had one in order for me to buy it 2.5 years ago.

So, it's now on the forefront of my memory to purchase a CO detector(s). The house is a 2-story 4 bedroom with all bedrooms on the upper level. It was built 2002, and is heated by a forced-air natural gas furnace.

I know I need a CO detector outside of the bedrooms. Is there anywhere else I should locate one. The top of the stairs in the foyer area would basically be the central point of the house, and near each bedroom door.

What brands/features do people like?

hyunelan2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 09:30 AM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,647
Default

CO detector - what's good?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hyunelan2 View Post
It occurred to me about a week ago that my house does not have a CO detector.
What brands/features do people like?
The one that will work WITH the hardwired and interconnected smoke detectors which usually means a matched set from the same company.

TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 09:33 AM   #3
Jack of all - master none
 
hyunelan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,195
Default

CO detector - what's good?


See, I didn't even know that existed! Thanks.

I'll have to see what brand my hardwired smoke detectors are and check for compatibility.
hyunelan2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 09:44 AM   #4
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,647
Default

CO detector - what's good?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hyunelan2 View Post
I'll have to see what brand my (built 2002) hardwired smoke detectors are and check for compatibility.
Don't count on that compatibility actually happening.
This, combined with the 10 year useful life issues...
is why I cut to the chase with a link to an all new matched set.

hth

Last edited by TarheelTerp; 01-12-2012 at 09:47 AM.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 09:49 AM   #5
Jack of all - master none
 
hyunelan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,195
Default

CO detector - what's good?


That also helps, thanks. I need to count up how many of those things are around. Off-hand, I can think of at least 7 smoke detectors, maybe more.
hyunelan2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 09:50 AM   #6
Love for Construction
 
<*(((><'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 318
Default

CO detector - what's good?


Did you provide a link to smoke/CO2 combos? I'm not seeing a link, I have it on my list to check my wired smokes to see if they check CO2 and would like to replace if they don't.
__________________
-luke-
<*(((>< is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 09:52 AM   #7
Jack of all - master none
 
hyunelan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,195
Default

CO detector - what's good?


Yes, his link is in post 2. Here it is again:

http://www.google.com/products/catal...d=0CKEBEPMCMAQ
hyunelan2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 10:20 AM   #8
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,647
Default

CO detector - what's good?


Quote:
Originally Posted by <*(((>< View Post
Did you provide a link to smoke/CO2 combos?
I'm not seeing a link... .
"...which usually means a matched set from the same company."

If your smokes are more than 10years old...
the folks who sell them highly recommend they be replaced.
It's probably wise advice even so.

Last edited by TarheelTerp; 01-12-2012 at 10:22 AM.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 07:34 PM   #9
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,756
Default

CO detector - what's good?


I'm going through the selection process now.....

You need CO detectors anywhere there is a combustion....gas dryer, gas stove, etc. Depending on your local code, the CO detector may be required to sound alarms in other parts of the house.

The active sensor in CO detectors have a finite life....with 10 years being the max....so, no how good the CO detector is, in 10 years or less, you will be replacing it.

You have 2 basic types to choose from, hardwired interconnected and wireless. I see wireless as being a retrofit option where you don't need a detector with hardwired power. Otherwise, just go hardwired since you have to get AC power to it anyway. Use 14/3 wire...the third red wire becomes the interconnect wire.

Combination CO and Smoke? More to go wrong....but then again, if it makes it past the warranty....chances are the smoke detector is about ready to be replaced in 10 years as well.

I'm leaning towards a model that shows the current and peak CO readings...I'm also interested in one the can be hooked to a home alarm system.

I have searched DIY and have not found any significant discussions on the topic.....sort of wish we could get a good thread going on the subject.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 07:27 AM   #10
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,732
Default

CO detector - what's good?


There is one good one out there, which we have discussed before. Just for reminders, The Protech 8505 is a good one, but kind of pricey http://www.amazon.com/ProTech-8505-C...6461036&sr=1-5 I had the FirstAlert GCO1CN, and it is a piece of garbage. Will never get one again. Right now the only one we have in the house, is a combo unit downstairs in the basement, which works really good and has never failed.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't find good laminate comparison anywhere cpsilo1 Flooring 3 03-20-2011 04:49 PM
Where can I find good contractor and building material suppliers? geordge Green Home Improvement 3 03-11-2009 11:11 AM
Where can I find good contractor and building material suppliers? denniis Off Topic 5 03-10-2009 09:27 AM
Recommendations for a good corded and/or cordless drill jimmyfloyd Tools 15 11-30-2008 11:20 AM
Looks like a good Christmas this year! leroyme Off Topic 6 12-23-2007 10:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.