Chimney Liners - General DIY Discussions - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2007, 06:28 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 235
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Chimney Liners


I want to put a wood stove in my house. I have a existing fireplace and working chimney. Do I need to install a liner?

Advertisement

econdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 10:34 AM   #2
Eibwen
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 849
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Chimney Liners


I dont think you really need a liner if the chimeny is in good shape now.

I would have a chimney company clean and inspect it first.

I have been thinking about lining mine simply so I dont have to pull out the stove to clean the chimney each time.

Let me know how things work out.

Advertisement

Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2007, 10:49 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 235
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Chimney Liners


Sammy:
good to hear from you. I ordered a liner. From what I have been reading, the liners prevent moisture from going back in to the wood stove and causing the appliance to rust. Also I believe from what I have been reading, you dont have to pull the sove out to clean the liner. Will let you know how this works out.
econdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2007, 01:25 PM   #4
Eibwen
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 849
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Chimney Liners


Good to hear from you too!

How'd the trip go?

Let me know where you got your liner and how it works out. My stove insert doesnt even have a take off on it to hook a stove pipe/liner to it now so I need to get one of those also.

The stove came with the house and is nice, but I wanted to get a liner in just to improve the draft and make it easier to clean. Rollin it out on pipes every year to clean the chimney is gettin old! [like me]
Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 06:14 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 235
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Chimney Liners


I hear you about getting old, my stove guy is ordering the liner, I will let you know where he gets it from. The trip went well, towed the trailer to Maine and back with no problems. Had a great time. Ever hear of Alaska wood stoves?
econdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 10:19 PM   #6
Eibwen
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 849
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Chimney Liners


Glad the trip went well!

I have never heard of that brand but then again I have a Squire brand that came with the house and never heard of them either. Although I hear they used to make boat trailers too. Mine has a 14"x 3" opening where the duct would hook to so its gonna take some work.

Let me know how yours turns out!

Advertisement

Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
water leaking through brick chimney quigleybmd Concrete, Stone & Masonry 45 02-26-2013 05:26 PM
Moisture-proofing chimney box wall penetration faithmyeyes Roofing/Siding 3 01-06-2007 12:23 AM
Advice Needed re: Chimney Liner for Oil Furnace Mike_R HVAC 3 11-27-2006 04:04 PM
Addition around existing brick chimney Adenmoor Building & Construction 2 11-20-2004 11:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts