Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-21-2007, 08:27 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Cement only floor? Will I have problems?

Howdy.

My neighbor and I just poured a new floor in the basement, using only portland cement. I'm a newb so I didn't ask questions. Is there going to be a problem with the floor if only cement was used rather than concrete?

I can't find anywhere where someone has used cement only to pour a finished floor.

Will this take longer to set? Will this collapse? Will this take thinset for tile?

Need some help kinda quick if anyone knows these answers.

Thanks

Brokefoot2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 08:54 PM   #2

Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Rewards Points: 10

Was he trying to top an existing slab? - Then it is wrong since it should have some sand and additives.

Was the cement mixed with sand and rock? - That is concrete and would be good for a slab.

If not, it must have been very expensive and a lot of work if it was a complete new floor.

concretemasonry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 06:30 PM   #3
mason

Cement is the powder you mix with aggregate and fines (sand) to make concrete. Its not concrete until its mixed with water.

Now, if you just added water to a bag of Portland cement without any aggregates or fines, then yes, you will have problems.

Like concretemasonry asked, is this a new slab or over an existing? Either way you might want to start over.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brokefoot2 View Post
Howdy.

My neighbor and I just poured a new floor in the basement, using only portland cement. I'm a newb so I didn't ask questions. Is there going to be a problem with the floor if only cement was used rather than concrete?

I can't find anywhere where someone has used cement only to pour a finished floor.