Can You Caulk Over Grout Lines In A Tile Shower? - General DIY Discussions - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-20-2006, 04:05 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Can you caulk over grout lines in a tile shower?

I put some DAP mircroban caulk over some of the grout lines to waterproof it and fight mold, but now I am fearing this was a mistake. Apparently, the back of tiles need to breath?

I put it along the base where the walls meet the floor, and I also put it on some of the grout lines on the wall (lower third- where i figured water would splash the most).

Now i'm thinking i just should have used Aqua Mix grout sealer.

I'm new to home ownership and new to this board as well. Any advice you all can give me will be GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks,
Greg

Advertisement

Greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 04:27 PM   #2
DIY'er

Rewards Points: 150

Technically speaking, you should caulk any "change of plane" in your tile installation. The idea is that with movement, the grout will crack. Can you grout in these areas? Many people do... and the worst thing that can happen is you regrout or romove it in those areas and then caulk.
My tub surround in my 2nd bath looks like it was grouted in the 60's and there is not the slightest crack in it. All that being said, you shouldnt do both. I would remove it and just seal the grout. Not sure about the science behind it, I just know that is what I have always been told by fellow DIY'ers with more experience than I as well as pros on forums, etc.
Hope that helps.

As a side note, when you do caulk in your shower/tub, I would use 100% silicone Like GE.
The only problem is that it comes in only a few colors so if you have an exotic color grout it is difficault to get a match.

Advertisement

"What if the hokey pokey really IS what its all about."