Buying Demo Model Woodstove - General DIY Discussions - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-22-2014, 05:50 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Arrow

buying demo model woodstove

Hi,

Last winter we had a few serious power outages and luckily this convinced my spouse to look into buying a wood stove. We live in the Maritimes in Canada and a lot of our friends have wood stoves. But we are originally from Europa and I have no real experience with wood stoves. I went out to a recommended store today and the guy there seemed a bit irritated with all my questions. This was really the first time I started asking questions.

He showed me a few models and I liked them all, except for the price. He showed me a Alderlea T4 he had in the warehouse. He had used it as a show model he said, in the store. I couldn't really see it very well but he gave me a fairly good price.

So I will go back with the intention to buy that show model stove. But before I go what should I pay attention to? How do I know for sure I'm buying a stove that will help us through many more winters?

Advertisement

Greenavenue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 05:56 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 694

Getting free wood?
Willing to deal with all the trash dragged when you bring in the wood.
Willing to deal with sooted up walls.
Got a place to store the wood outside so the insects do not get in the house?
Figured out what all the double wall pipe and fittings are going to cost to install it?

Advertisement

Old 02-22-2014, 05:59 PM   #3

Yeah the wood and the storage, I got that all covered. I'm talking about the stove itself. What do I look for to know I'm buying a good stove?
Old 02-22-2014, 06:06 PM   #4
Retired from the grind

Rewards Points: 2,508