Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-14-2011, 05:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Bonding formica to old formica


Does anyone here know if it is possible to bond Formica to formica. I do not want to rebuild the top for a table and would prefer to just go right over the old. I have contact cement and also some polyurethane glue laying around.

MajorMedicalBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 06:02 PM   #2
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,644
Rewards Points: 46
Default

Bonding formica to old formica


If there is a way I would like to know it,too.

I was always taught that that was not an option----but I'm old and don't know as much as I used to.

__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 06:07 PM   #3
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,635
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Bonding formica to old formica


I've seen products advertised and I suppose with the right contact cement and lots of pressure it could work, for a while. I am not a believer in the concept.

What does the other side of the table look like? Can you take the top off, flip it, laminate the other side and paint the edges with melamine or another paint for plastics?

For that matter, what is the table used for? If it is not all carved up would a couple coats of melamine paint work? Rough up the surface a bit and have at it.
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 06:21 PM   #4
Tileguy
 
Bud Cline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10,173
Rewards Points: 26
Default

Bonding formica to old formica


Go for it!
Coarse-sand the old laminate and apply contact adhesive to both the old and the new and do it. It'll work.
Bud Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 08:06 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Illinois, Chicago area
Posts: 305
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Bonding formica to old formica


I actually do a lot of this at work. Sand with 80 grit, clean well, contact cement on both pieces{ no water based stuff} let it dry according to directions and stick it! Roll or otherwise smooth it over and your done
packer_rich is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to packer_rich For This Useful Post:
Bud Cline (11-14-2011), MajorMedicalBoy (11-15-2011), Thurman (11-15-2011)
Old 11-15-2011, 04:04 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western suburbs, Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,661
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Bonding formica to old formica


Just to add to what "packer rich" said -
Note: "no water based stuff"!!!
The non-water based cement is very flammable.
Ventilation!
No Smoking!

rossfingal
rossfingal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 06:17 AM   #7
Mold!! Let's kill it!
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,843
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Bonding formica to old formica


I've done it. Make sure your original laminate is well bonded. Like said above, stay away from water based adhesive. I always use a roller too. Especially around the edges.
Maintenance 6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 06:17 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,118
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Bonding formica to old formica


Same methods, but slightly different order:........CLEAN the old top with paint thinner, then lacquer thinner then alcohol(ventilate well!!!), that will remove nearly everything found in a kitchen, then rough the surface, vacuum all dust and clean again with alcohol. Then contatct cement.
Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Just Bill For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (11-24-2011)
Old 11-15-2011, 09:20 AM   #9
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,270
Rewards Points: 64
Default

Bonding formica to old formica


^^^^All the above....

One last point...it works as long as your existing laminate it properly attached. If part of it is trying to come up...the top layer will have the same problem.

Pay special attention to the sides......

And look into getting a laminate edging bit for your router to give you a clean edge.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ddawg16 For This Useful Post:
Thurman (11-15-2011)
Old 11-15-2011, 10:06 AM   #10
STAFF
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 7,406
Rewards Points: 30
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Bonding formica to old formica


Post deleted, old timers ya know.
__________________
New members: Please consider adding your location to your profile.

Jim
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 11:38 AM   #11
Tileguy
 
Bud Cline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10,173
Rewards Points: 26
Default

Bonding formica to old formica


Quote:
jiju1943: "Post deleted, old timers ya know."
Lost your nerve, huh Jim?
Bud Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 06:48 PM   #12
STAFF
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 7,406
Rewards Points: 30
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Bonding formica to old formica


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud Cline View Post
Lost your nerve, huh Jim?
Naw, I forgot he was talking about a table instead of a counter top, and for me that is really easy.
__________________
New members: Please consider adding your location to your profile.

Jim
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 07:11 PM   #13
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,270
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Bonding formica to old formica


Three important words I learned from an older cabinet-maker friend of mine: Scuff, scuff, scuff. The 80 grit sounds good, scuff it up, clean it well, apply the glue properly, allow to "tack-dry" and apply the new laminate. Roll, roll, and roll some more. I've seen him do many older counter-tops and leave them looking like brand new.
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Thurman For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (11-15-2011)
Old 11-15-2011, 10:00 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 52
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Bonding formica to old formica


This method even works in Canada !!
Sammy 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Sammy 2 For This Useful Post:
packer_rich (11-20-2011)
Old 11-18-2011, 11:51 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Bonding formica to old formica


Thanks everybody. The reply that was a help was the idea to turn the surface over to bond a new piece to the bottom. Worked like a charm.

I installed the top first and I think this is a mistake right? Better to do edge first? I ended up cutting into the top a bit trying to flush trim it with the router because I could not find my files. I switched to a 45 chamfering bit and it worked better but it seems to me that it is better to have the top cover the edge.

MajorMedicalBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wire size for grounding to water meter? WillK Electrical 18 06-15-2011 10:26 PM
Water Fall - Black bonding material cprao Landscaping & Lawn Care 3 04-23-2011 03:06 PM
Intersystem Bonding Bar zpm Electrical 0 03-08-2011 01:21 PM
can I apply formica over formica? DIYWayne General DIY Discussions 7 12-28-2008 03:19 PM
Wire size for 300watt trans, 3 way 100ft Al the Diy guy Electrical 16 03-22-2008 08:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.