Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-21-2009, 07:01 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Blown-in insulation in walls

Hello - I'm new to DIY chatroom and am a homeowner trying to save money do things myself. I wish to rent an insulation blower and blow either fiberglass or cellulose into the walls. I also need to insulate a dirt crawl space. If anyone has ideas about insulation blower rentals, let me know.

lisak9393 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 07:43 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 1,000

Quote:
Originally Posted by lisak9393 View Post
Hello - I'm new to DIY chatroom and am a homeowner trying to save money do things myself. I wish to rent an insulation blower and blow either fiberglass or cellulose into the walls. I also need to insulate a dirt crawl space. If anyone has ideas about insulation blower rentals, let me know.
I hired an insulation contractor to blow cellulose into my house walls! Its not an easy chore, and there are many pitfalls! In my case, the house was empty, so the holes were drilled from the inside! They may be drilled from the outside, but as my house has aluminum siding, it would have looked like it was shot up with a machine gun! Brick can be drilled through the mortar and plugged without affecting the appearance! My house is a bungalo style and not that large. Even so, it took the contractor and his helper four full days to do the job! And this did not include filling the holes! Your house may have 'fire stops' in the wall cavities! If so, it will be necessary to drill one set of holes near the ceiling. And another set under the four foot level. And of course above the lintels and under the windows! I'm an original DIY person, but I contracted this out and was glad that I did!

Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 11:19 PM   #3