Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-12-2008, 01:28 PM   #1

Share |

Best saw for cutting aluminum reinforced vinyl railing???

I'm about to wrap up construction of my deck and I need to cut the vinyl railing to the appropriate length. I know a reciprocating saw with a metal-type blade will work but I have a lot of 45 degree angles to cut and it's rather difficult to get a straight cut using that saw. I'd like to use my 10" chop saw if at all possible. Supposing I do, what is the best blade to use?

Ler0y Jenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 01:49 PM   #2

You can definately cut aluminum with a miter saw and a regular blade. It will dull the blade a little faster than wood will, but will work fine. Wear eye protection for sure and go very slow when cutting. You can't cut as fast as you would in wood, and if you do you'll bind the saw...And that is probably going to hurt. If the aluminum is thick (3/4" or more, give or take) take your time. You don't want heat buildup to distort the blade. If it is a thin extrusion, no problem!

For aluminum I use what's called a triple chip blade. It is a conventional saw blade with offset teeth but every third tooth is ground flat. They're expensive and are not available at most hardware stores.

If you have an old dull blade that's what you should use. If you have a high-end blade in your saw you might want to get a cheaper one for this. If you don't use the saw for fine work or use it all the time, you'll probably never know the difference even if you use a good blade. The dulling shouldn't be significant.

The vinyl part should cut easily.

Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 02:07 PM   #3

Thanks for the reply. In between posting and reading your post I went to Lowes and got one of these:

http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?actio...esc&lpage=none