Becoming A Licensed Plumber/electrician - General DIY Discussions - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-05-2009, 12:04 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 1,038

Becoming a licensed plumber/electrician

after owning my house for nearly two years and having done massive electrical and plumbing renovations, and also after being sick of working relatively inflexible 40 hr weeks at a FT job, i am seriously contemplating getting licensed to be a plumber and an electrician.

after having seen crappy work my many licensed tradesmen, i am pretty sure that i have the talent and prowess to eclipse them in every way.

probably the main reason i want to do it is to be my own boss and to work when i want to and don't work when i don't want to. i currently work as a software developer making decent $, however, it gets on my nerves that i have to get PTO approvals and schedule vacation etc. i envision the rest of my life taking between 2-4 months off a year to do various fun activities + i like to take random times off during the normal work week to do outdoorsy stuff i am into. on the other side, i do not mind working late at night.

i live in washington DC and would like to be licensed in DC, MD, and VA. i was wondering if anyone can shed some light as to how difficult it is to become licensed and an INDEPENDENT tradesman w/out working for someone else as an apprentice etc.? i have heard that, in order to be a master plumber/electrician, one must be an apprentice for many years. that scares me. i would be more inclined to take classes and pass exams and do my own stuff then.

Advertisement

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 12:12 PM   #2
K&B Remodeler/Tile Guy

Rewards Points: 500

I'd pick one or the other.