Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-10-2011, 05:58 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Bathroom Permit Advice

Hello,

I'm planning to add a new bathroom to my house on the main floor (2pc or 3pc). I'm not experienced enough to do the all the work myself so I decided to get a contractor. A friend has referred me to a contractor who they are very close with and both of them have been in the property industry for over 20 years.

I was feeling pretty confident until it was suggested that I not get a permit for this bathroom because the house is older and apparently the city inspector is a complete jerk (makes things really difficult and expensive).

I thought you should always get permits... but my friend never gets them for interior work and says there won't be legal implications for this "minor" work. The existing bathroom in the house wasn't put in with a permit and in my parents house the basement was finished by the previous owners without a permit.... nothing ever happened with that.

I'm feeling uneasy about this - 1. because I'm not sure if I can trust this advice and it makes me wonder if something is being hidden 2. I don't want there to be any implications later (what could they be?).

My house is in Toronto, Ontario, if that makes a difference.

I would appreciate any thoughts on this...

Thank you

Jade1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 07:04 PM   #2
Retired from the grind

Rewards Points: 2,226

Bathroom Permit Advice

You are in Toronto, and as Mike Holmes would say, get permits. You do not want to be on his next Holmes on Homes, or Holmes Inspection show.

gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 07:15 PM   #3
Civil Engineer

Rewards Points: 2,082

Bathroom Permit Advice