Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-22-2007, 09:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

basement subfloor??


I starting to finish my basement, right now it is a 1300 square foot room with a furnace in the middle. I am planing two bedrooms for the kids, washroom and a large rec room with a gas fireplace. I live in southern Ontario with fairly cold winters should I install a subfloor. My basement doesn't have any water problems. Has anyone used the Dricore subfloor system it look like the perfect solution but cost $7.00 for one 2 foot square. Any help or advice would be a great help.
thanks
master splinter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 09:23 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

basement subfloor??


This is only a design choice, but what I did was installed 2x4's flat called sleepers, installed rigid foam in between, 3/4 T&G on top of that then carpet... You would never know that it was concrete underneath, very warm soft and comfortable...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2007, 10:06 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 36
Default

basement subfloor??


I agree with chris75. Running 2x4, and t&g 3/4" plywood would be a lot cheaper than the Dricore subfloor.
jscholl411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2007, 10:50 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Default

basement subfloor??


somehow, my reply got chok off... anyway...I am going to do this again... use product in this site rather than Dricore and you save $$


http://www.systemplaton.com/
KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2007, 06:42 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

basement subfloor??


I also installed a whole house dehumidifier, mainly for the basement, but I did tie it into the furnace ductwork and now my doors upstairs never swell up in the summer...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 11:19 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 241
Default

basement subfloor??


Quote:
Originally Posted by KUI****G View Post
somehow, my reply got chok off... anyway...I am going to do this again... use product in this site rather than Dricore and you save $$


http://www.systemplaton.com/
DriCore is priced at $1.47/SF at HD and Lowes, and 7/16" 4'x8' OSB subfloor, that would go over the Platon, is listed at about $1.00/SF. So the Platon would have to be less than $0.47/SF to make it more economical, right? Is it? Or were you thinking of applying the laminated floor directly over the Platon, without OSB subfloor? If so, don't you lose the opportunity for significant "warmth, insulation and comfort" of having the OSB? I am VERY intrigued by the system you proposed, so I want to find out more. Thanks for your input.
tpagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 08:25 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Default

basement subfloor??


I didn't do the calculation like you try to do regarding cost per sq. ft.... but it does cost about at least half the cost if not more... I cannot remember exactly...

but OSB for sure is not $1 per sq. ft., a 4x8 OSB board is 32 sq. ft and only cost about $20 bucks in HD....

and the plastic sheet come as a big roll in HD cost approx. $128 per big roll..

my $800 sq. ft basement use approx 2 plastic rolls and 800 sq. ft. of OSB board...

anyway... the drycore doesn't make sense, more expensive, take long time to install.. and same idea ...

yes you need OSB board.... if you go to speciality store... may able to get a better price than HD....
KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 07:42 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 241
Default

basement subfloor??


You are right. I screwed up in not figuring the OSB at 32 SF per panel. Lowes sells 7/16" 4'x8' OSB sub floor board for less than $8 a piece, soif a roll of your plastic can cover roughly 400SF for $128, then the whole system costs less than $0.60/SF, as opposed to the $1.47 for dricore, and there are less seams where something could go wrong! Thanks for the clarification. You just saved me a couple hundred bucks!
tpagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 07:22 AM   #9
Member
 
47_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Springville, NY
Posts: 1,347
Default

basement subfloor??


I wouldn't use 7/16" OSB for the floor, use 3/4". What do you plan on putting down as a finished floor?
__________________
What we've got here is... failure to communicate. Some men you just can't reach. So you get what we had here last week, which is the way he wants it... well, he gets it.
47_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 09:41 AM   #10
Below Grader
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Seymour
Posts: 68
Default

basement subfloor??


Even though your basement is dry now, anything organic used as a sub floor in a basement is something I would not recommend. Basements are prone to water accidents, such as plumbing or water heater leakage, condensation, changes in the water table do to a heavier rain season, etc...
As for the sub floor choice, you can try a product called ThermalDry. It is an interlocking thermal tile system specifically designed for basements, 100% waterproof and inorganic so it won't support mold growth. If you are planning to lay carpet, they have the unfinished option, but they also have the all in one solutions: finished flooring tiles in different colors you can install directly over concrete, with no adhesives.
http://www.totalbasementfinishing.co...loor-tiles.php

If you'd like the look and feel of hardwood, in a 100% waterproof solution, there is also this all in one flooring option called MillCreek, which can also be installed over concrete, no sub floor needed.
http://www.totalbasementfinishing.co...reek-floor.php

You can walk over those as soon as you lay'em, if there is a crack in the concrete, you can lift and inspect, if a piece ever gets damaged or worn, you just replace it without disturbing the rest. And if you ever move, you can take your flooring with you and lay it on your new home's basement!
CyFree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 05:22 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 241
Default

basement subfloor??


Quote:
Originally Posted by 47_47 View Post
I wouldn't use 7/16" OSB for the floor, use 3/4". What do you plan on putting down as a finished floor?
OK I can do that. The finish material will be Pergo laminate floor, and the space we are talking about in my case (didn't mean to hijack the thread) is a slab on grade first floor living area
tpagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 07:23 AM   #12
Member
 
47_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Springville, NY
Posts: 1,347
Default

basement subfloor??


Flooring manufacturers have specifications of the subfloor for a proper installation and warrantee of their products. I would research what pergo wants as a subfloor in this case (vapor barrier, subfloor thickness, sleeper spacing...).
__________________
What we've got here is... failure to communicate. Some men you just can't reach. So you get what we had here last week, which is the way he wants it... well, he gets it.
47_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 08:28 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Default

basement subfloor??


Quote:
Originally Posted by CyFree View Post
Even though your basement is dry now, anything organic used as a sub floor in a basement is something I would not recommend. Basements are prone to water accidents, such as plumbing or water heater leakage, condensation, changes in the water table do to a heavier rain season, etc...
As for the sub floor choice, you can try a product called ThermalDry. It is an interlocking thermal tile system specifically designed for basements, 100% waterproof and inorganic so it won't support mold growth. If you are planning to lay carpet, they have the unfinished option, but they also have the all in one solutions: finished flooring tiles in different colors you can install directly over concrete, with no adhesives.
http://www.totalbasementfinishing.co...loor-tiles.php

If you'd like the look and feel of hardwood, in a 100% waterproof solution, there is also this all in one flooring option called MillCreek, which can also be installed over concrete, no sub floor needed.
http://www.totalbasementfinishing.co...reek-floor.php

You can walk over those as soon as you lay'em, if there is a crack in the concrete, you can lift and inspect, if a piece ever gets damaged or worn, you just replace it without disturbing the rest. And if you ever move, you can take your flooring with you and lay it on your new home's basement!
these are sounds make sense and very nice... but I wonder would it be very expensive.... this is the most important part... afterall, it is just a basement.... you don't want to spend mega bucks on it...
KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 09:37 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Default

basement subfloor??


Hi,

I would recommend a solution which allows air to circulate underneath. It will prevent mold growth.

Also, before you finish your basement, make sure there are no water leaks or humidity in your basement. I came across a good article at
http://handyowner.com/2008/07/13/rep...nt-water-leak/

Mikenos
mikenos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 10:22 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Default

basement subfloor??


Quote:
Originally Posted by mikenos View Post
Hi,

I would recommend a solution which allows air to circulate underneath. It will prevent mold growth.
Mikenos
that is exactly what the dricore and the other system the author of this thread trying to use will do... it use big plastic stubs underneath to raise the whole flooring... and this plastic stuff can stand extreme weight without collasping and allow therefore air to circulate underneath.... should there be minor water invasion into the basement...
KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need guidance on subfloor problems in new home. wb1026 Flooring 9 10-06-2009 06:29 AM
Basement - need to bust up about 1 ft deeper FallenAngel Building & Construction 7 08-15-2007 09:09 AM
Sub Basement Walkout - Please Help pgs_28 Building & Construction 11 08-12-2007 09:55 PM
How to 'start' finishing the basement... mcvane Building & Construction 18 06-04-2007 08:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.