Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-30-2013, 08:17 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lakewood Co.
Posts: 12
Share |
Default

attic fan thermostat


hi. I have attic fan in my house that was built in the 50's I want to add a thermostat. I have to check it out today it's making noise and want to make control with a thermostat
thank you Alan

cobra1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 04:33 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lakewood Co.
Posts: 12
Default

attic fan thermostat


the attic fan has power to it and thermostat put now but now motor . I need to know how to wire thermostat to the motor

cobra1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 05:12 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Owasso OK
Posts: 347
Default

attic fan thermostat


"the attic fan has power to it and thermostat put now but now motor"

You may want to proofread your post before sending.

First turn off the breaker. Have you mounted the thermostat in an appropriate box?

In the box you'll feed in your hot, neutral, and ground. I'm assuming this is a 120v setup.

Using your thermostat instructions (which override anything I have to say) you'll probably hook the hot to the appropriate wire on the thermostat.

From the thermostat you'll hook up a hot to the fan. In the box you should connect the neutrals and the ground, and ground the box if it's metallic.
RoyalAcresRod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 06:26 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,181
Default

attic fan thermostat


If it's also making noise why not get rid of it and add a ridge vent. No more motors, or thermostats to worry about, use's no power and works 24/7 and get the whole roof vented instead of just a circle.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 06:41 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Owasso OK
Posts: 347
Default

attic fan thermostat


Joe has a real good point: especially in a house built in the 50s. Many of those are not air-sealed real well.

And the attic fan can pull quite a bit of conditioned air from the living space into the attic. Especially if you have insufficient air intake into the attic.

The fan WILL get it's air from somewhere. Likely from inside your home b
RoyalAcresRod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 06:57 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: outside ocala fl
Posts: 3,340
Default

attic fan thermostat


My guess is if it's making noise it's days are numbered.
ToolSeeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 08:28 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lakewood Co.
Posts: 12
Default

attic fan thermostat


hi, the fan is in the middle of the house works great I have a high and low switch, on/off. no thermostat. on each gable I have fans with thermostats and 4 roof vents. I just got the house and trying to find out system I have?
the thermostat I will have to check how the thermostat are old hung on a rafter at each side
cobra1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 10:31 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lakewood Co.
Posts: 12
Default

attic fan thermostat


well I did some checking around and found a wall switch that controls the gable fan it must be a 3 way switch with the thermostat. It works great now. would all the fans be over kill? maybe not it should work great now. we shall see, in the mid 90's today. oh can I use my swamp cooler with the fans on to. should I keep some window open to?
thanks for your help this a great site for help
cobra1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 10:49 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Owasso OK
Posts: 347
Default

attic fan thermostat


Perhaps it's just me, but I'm having trouble understanding. How many attic fans do you have? I'm concerned you don't have enough intake area to match your exhaust CFM, thus pulling conditioned air from inside your home.

I don't understand why you would want to open your windows with your swamp coolers operating. Where are you located ?

Please add your location to your profile. I'm guessing you're in a dry area? Swamp coolers don't work well in humid climates.
RoyalAcresRod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 11:07 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lakewood Co.
Posts: 12
Default

attic fan thermostat


I live in Lakewood Co.
I have two fans one in hallway ceiling and one on gable, the other gable is a vent and two on roof vents. we average 10%- 20% humidity
cobra1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 11:26 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Owasso OK
Posts: 347
Default

attic fan thermostat


Oh, OK, you're talking about two different types of fans. The one in the hallway is a whole house fan. When that one is operating, yes, you'll want to open window(s).
RoyalAcresRod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 11:55 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lakewood Co.
Posts: 12
Default

attic fan thermostat


do you think this is a good system for where we live. and we have a swamp cooler to. the house is about 1200 sq ft
cobra1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 11:58 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Owasso OK
Posts: 347
Default

attic fan thermostat


Well if it keeps you comfortable I'd use it. But I have no experience with swamp coolers. Or how to size them.
RoyalAcresRod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 12:02 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lakewood Co.
Posts: 12
Default

attic fan thermostat


it does what we want. with out paying high A/C cost that other pay
cobra1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 12:04 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lakewood Co.
Posts: 12
Default

attic fan thermostat


I should do better now that it is all working now
Thank you for the help Alan

cobra1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attic fan using z-wave thermostat C03T07C12 HVAC 1 05-28-2013 09:44 PM
Attic Fan Thermostat Issue MJG196 Building & Construction 2 04-24-2013 09:18 PM
Attic project - Would like opinions whataboutj Insulation 6 06-29-2011 03:07 PM
Ventilating attic with two roofs senorbungle Building & Construction 2 01-09-2011 04:17 PM
Powered Attic Fan question spup345 Roofing/Siding 9 06-30-2008 08:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.