Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-20-2013, 12:08 PM   #1

Share |

Approach to a rather complex ceiling leak

Hello all and thanks in advance for checking this out. I'm a newbie at home improvement but have a problem that 2 plumbers have been unable to solve, so I'm not quite sure where to go to get answers, or whether or not/how I should approach this problem myself.

Essentially, for the past few months, there has been a water leak that happens only sporadically through my living room ceiling above which there are two showers. The water occasionally comes through two light fixtures (I'll turn off the electricity if I attempt to do anything with regards to fixing this myself).

Like I said, two plumbers came out and tore holes out of the ceiling but then couldn't find the source of the leak. So, should I call a contractor or something to come have a look? I don't even know how to approach finding the leak in the first place since I'm assuming it's coming from inside a wall somewhere.

Thanks y'all.

jgeffen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 12:17 PM   #2

Does it only leak when the showers running?
When it's raining outside?
Did they open up the ceiling below and check for drain leaks?
Anyone check to see if the stems leaking in the shower valve and running down the back side of the wall?
Anyone open up the wall behind the shower valve to take a look?

Old 10-20-2013, 12:56 PM   #3
Exterior Construction

Open up the ceiling.
Windows on Wash is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 01:40 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Does it only leak when the showers running?
When it's raining outside?
Did they open up the ceiling below and check for drain leaks?
Anyone check to see if the stems leaking in the shower valve and running down the back side of the wall?