Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-12-2011, 03:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Metro Detroit, MI
Posts: 20
Share |
Default

air conditioner not working HELP!!!


We live in MI and it is just starting to warm up here. Today is the first 80 degree day. Well if you know anything about MI you know how humid it gets......... I was forced to cut in the AC while I cooked dinner, and NOTHING HAPPENED. It sounds like its on, there is a draft coming from the vent, but two hours later with the temp on 60 its still hot. I have never owned a home with AC so I have no clue what could be wrong. Money is tight right now so, If you know of anything I could check myself before calling in a repair person please let me know.

shocanfixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 06:44 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Default

air conditioner not working HELP!!!


Are you sure you put the switch to A/C and not just to "fan"?
How old is the unit?
Ron

Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 07:44 AM   #3
A Little Of Everything
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 2,118
Default

air conditioner not working HELP!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by shocanfixit View Post
We live in MI and it is just starting to warm up here. Today is the first 80 degree day. Well if you know anything about MI you know how humid it gets......... I was forced to cut in the AC while I cooked dinner, and NOTHING HAPPENED. It sounds like its on, there is a draft coming from the vent, but two hours later with the temp on 60 its still hot. I have never owned a home with AC so I have no clue what could be wrong. Money is tight right now so, If you know of anything I could check myself before calling in a repair person please let me know.
I assume, by the sounds of things, that it's a Central Air unit. If that's the case, look at the outside unit when the AC is on. Is the fan running? If not, you might not have your thermostat set to "cool." Or it could be a breaker turned off, so that the unit isn't getting power.

If the fan is running, you probably need to have freon added to the unit. That is something only a service pro can do.


Sorry I can't be of more help, but I know very little about AC units - other than that I like what they do!
DrHicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Receptacle stopped working lovetobuild Electrical 3 02-11-2011 10:05 AM
Some things not working on a circuit while others are? speedster1 Electrical 7 11-24-2010 06:23 AM
air conditioner and furnace not working?? handygirl01 HVAC 1 07-13-2010 03:56 PM
New air conditioner not working Barristan HVAC 15 08-27-2009 04:42 PM
Lennox HS29-311-3P Air Conditioner Not Working olgranddad HVAC 13 06-23-2009 11:39 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.