Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-25-2011, 06:50 AM   #1
Member
 
jburd964's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Air compressor motor


I have another problem with compressor motor. After replacing compressor, now the motor doesn't have enough torque for the initial start. If I help it with first rotation it runs fine. What would cause this to happen?. The motor and compressor are both rated as 5HP. I'm already vest to deep into this thing to buy another. Somebody tell me some simple is the problem. I think it could be a bad actuator not putting out enough to carry initial surge.

__________________
Gun control isn't about guns, IT'S ABOUT CONTROL.
jburd964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 07:14 AM   #2
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,856
Rewards Points: 2,360
Default

Air compressor motor


You don't have this thing on an extension cord do you?

Mine won't start unless plugged in to an outlet.

I have one the only likes synthetic oil.

__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 10:17 AM   #3
Member
 
jburd964's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Air compressor motor


It is on a 10/3 wire/cord with plugs for welding machine that I put on both ends. It's this way only till I get it operating correctly then it's back into it's hole and hard wired. It was on same cord before I replaced compressor, and it worked fine.
__________________
Gun control isn't about guns, IT'S ABOUT CONTROL.
jburd964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 10:47 AM   #4
jschaben
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: La Crosse, Kansas
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Air compressor motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by jburd964 View Post
I have another problem with compressor motor. After replacing compressor, now the motor doesn't have enough torque for the initial start. If I help it with first rotation it runs fine. What would cause this to happen?. The motor and compressor are both rated as 5HP. I'm already vest to deep into this thing to buy another. Somebody tell me some simple is the problem. I think it could be a bad actuator not putting out enough to carry initial surge.
Check the polarity of the start capacitor. If you got the wires backward it will have low start up torque, some will even try to run backwards.
__________________
John Schaben

"Where all think alike, no one is thinking very much"
jschaben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 11:02 AM   #5
Remodeler
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 242
Rewards Points: 156
Default

Air compressor motor


Is the compressor under load?

Your tank should have a check valve between the compressor and tank, this seals to hold pressure in the tank, it can sometimes stick open or fail.
You also have an unloader valve to bleed the pressure off of the compressor pump each time the compressor shuts off. Often this is a small valve on the side of the pressure switch.
Both of these work together to allow the motor to spin up before it comes under load.
iamrfixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 12:53 PM   #6
Member
 
jburd964's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Air compressor motor


As for as polarity are you meaning flip the black and white?
__________________
Gun control isn't about guns, IT'S ABOUT CONTROL.
jburd964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 12:58 PM   #7
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Air compressor motor


could be the last cycle of pressure the motor is trying to start against that is in the head..vent the head and start the compressor or pressure off the tank....something like a refrig and waiting 2 minutes till the pressures balance out....
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 01:00 PM   #8
Member
 
jburd964's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Air compressor motor


The check valve is sticking open. When compressor reaches 2
145 psi it shuts down, then the little release valve on side of regulator bleeds it down to 85psi before shutting off. I went out last night and drained tank pressure to zero and it still didn't want to start. Is there anyway that pressure is not releasing from between regulator valve and compressor?
__________________
Gun control isn't about guns, IT'S ABOUT CONTROL.
jburd964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 06:19 AM   #9
Mold!! Let's kill it!
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,849
Rewards Points: 2,012
Default

Air compressor motor


Try starting the motor without the belt to the compressor pump. If it's a bad start capacitor, it likely won't start even if it's not under load.
Maintenance 6 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Maintenance 6 For This Useful Post:
Thurman (09-26-2011)
Old 09-26-2011, 07:20 AM   #10
Member
 
jburd964's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Air compressor motor


I took check valve out last night it was filthy for blow bye of old compressor, clean it and reinstalled. But in the dark damaged the tubing to regulator. I'm off today and will repair as soon as things open up. I'm believing that was the problem and will post as soon as I get results. I haven't ran without belt in place but am 99percent sure it would run.
jburd964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 12:05 AM   #11
Member
 
jburd964's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Air compressor motor


Ok, here's latest on compressor. I fixed the damaged 1/4" pressure regulator tubing, compressor still wouldn't start with out assistants. But there is improvement, compressor shuts off as it should without the 40# drop in pressure. I took bought capacitors off brought them to tool shop and ended up replacing both. Reinstalled and guess what? Still want start by it self €{'#€>{}
Talked to tool guy, he said remove electrical end of motor and inspect motor speed switch. I did, wasn't much other then needed clean and I cleaned contacts, reassembled it and zip knotta same thing. Removed motor took it bye his shop on way to work and he made a few adjustments to motor drive connector switch and wa la it runs fine. If all goes as planned will reinstall and tighten up a couple leaky fittings and this PIMA will be behind me for a long time.

I did stay at Holiday Inn Express last night.

__________________
Gun control isn't about guns, IT'S ABOUT CONTROL.
jburd964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.