Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-27-2009, 11:52 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

advice/Help on non-permitted bonus room?

Hi everyone, I am very new to all of this. 1st time homebuyer and only moved in 30 days ago. I bought a home with an existing "non-permitted" bonus room. I just received a notice from the city telling me it needs to be demolished or I need to get it permitted within 2 weeks because it was spotted by a code enforcement officer minly because of an unsightly trash pile in the driveway that was also against code. THe trash was what we were hauling out of the home that the previous owners left us. .

Here is the problem. I knew about this problem when I bought the house. I even signed a disclosure saying I understood this problem. The reason I went forward are.

1. that before I put in an offer, I called the city and was put on the phone with an inspector and I told them that I was thinking of buying a home with an existing permit and they told me that in this city, they do not actively look for violations and chances were that if it was there already and nobody complained then I was OK.

2. I talked to the neighbors and friom what they all told me, the room was added on in 1969, 4 owners ago and nobody ever had a problem with it and it has been sitting here for 40 years unbothered.

3. in my price range here in CAlifornia, I looked at hundreds of houses and 99% of them had non-permitted add-on's, but they were all short sales or forclosures. This was the only one I saw in my price range that was a decent house and the owners were not upside down.