30amp Welder - General DIY Discussions - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2011, 10:42 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

30amp welder


Hi guy's I'm new to this and new to welding, my question is. I just bought a portable arc welder and it needs a 30 amp plug for it to work. Can I get a portable extension or do I have to rewire my shed so I can only weld in my shed?

Thanks for all the help.

Advertisement

Commdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 12:30 PM   #2
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,833
Rewards Points: 2,300
Default

30amp welder


Quote:
Can I get a portable extension or do I have to rewire my shed so I can only weld in my shed?
Ayuh,... As long as you're suppling 30 amps, it really don't matter How it gets there....

Advertisement

Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 12:33 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

30amp welder


Quote:
Originally Posted by Commdiver View Post
Hi guy's I'm new to this and new to welding, my question is. I just bought a portable arc welder and it needs a 30 amp plug for it to work. Can I get a portable extension or do I have to rewire my shed so I can only weld in my shed?

Thanks for all the help.
You would probably need to put a 30 amp outlet in and wire it accordingly.
You would need to make a 30 amp extension cord.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 12:43 PM   #4
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

30amp welder


Welcome commdiver, to the best DIY'r site on the web.

If you did make up a 30 amp extension cord, where would you connect it?

You would still need a 30 amp plug (male and female) or are you asking to just wire directly to a breaker on a sub panel.

Either way will work, as long as the circuit, wire and breaker are all rated appropriately.

Mark
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 03:42 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

30amp welder


Thanks mark
Commdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Detached Garage for 220v welder 8N1949 Electrical 2 03-11-2010 09:47 AM
40 amp on 30amp circuit tpolk Electrical 7 01-16-2010 08:39 PM
240v Welder powered by portable generator jackgerd Electrical 10 11-06-2008 02:38 PM
MIG welding amakarevic Tools 28 02-20-2008 09:56 PM
Miller syncrowave 250dx Welder installation saddletramp Electrical 6 01-10-2008 02:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts