Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-03-2007, 11:15 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

240v Air Compressor to 120v help


I have a 240v Craftsman Air Compressor and I would like to run it as 120V. Is there a way to convert the air compressor from 240v to 120v by changing out the wiring in the air compressor? Can I just re-wire it? I do have 240v in my garage, but I would like to be able to take the compressor to my barn that only has 120v.

The motor on the compressor is:
GE MOTORS
Model: 5KCR48SR59GW
PART NO: C-MO-3013
V: 230
A: 13-1
HZ: 60
RPM: 3450 PH1
PC: B1037

Any help would be great! Thanks!

ruacoltsnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 01:38 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 200
Rewards Points: 150
Default

240v Air Compressor to 120v help


As per the info you gave regarding the motor.
Answers are..
No.
No.
No.

JGarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 05:11 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,289
Rewards Points: 2,240
Default

240v Air Compressor to 120v help


The whole reason for the 230v motor, is because of efficiency.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 09:22 PM   #4
Long-Time DIYer
 
Mike Swearingen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: On Albemarle Sound In Northeastern NC
Posts: 1,460
Rewards Points: 500
Default

240v Air Compressor to 120v help


How far is the barn from the garage? Extra length hoses connected together? Portable air tank?
Mike Swearingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 03:59 PM   #5
HandyMan Engineer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sherwood Park, Alberta
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 25
Default

240v Air Compressor to 120v help


Who wired a barn without 240volt? (I've already done it, so you're not the first).

Besides Mike's idea's, any possibility of upgrading you barn service to 240V? If your power is run underground in conduit and has room, you may be able to pull a forth conductor or replace existing if they are not meaty enough. Then you just upgrade the sub panel. Also I've seen sub panels that have 240V but it's only been used for 120v, so it just needs a 240V plug installed to the sub panel. Hopefully thats an option and then you really set the barn up nice for when the miss's kicks you out. We all need our haven.
sendres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2007, 06:38 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 232
Rewards Points: 150
Default

240v Air Compressor to 120v help


IF your wiring is underground and you cant get 240 there,,,and it is TOO expensive to rewire,,,just bury a black water line hose strong enough for your air pressure,,even a foot down would work pretty good. YOU can dig it by hand with tile spade, loader tractor, even a garden hoe cut down to a couple inches and reinforce the handle(in sandy stuff). OR hire a lawn pipe puller to lay it.

ALL compressors throw water into the line,,,put a dryer filter before it goes in the ground at the compressor end,,less winter freezes that way,,hard to get the water all out once its in there. Then make a pop on hose that hooks to that one and power up only when you NEED it,,unless every day, then leave on always!!

Here's a nuther bit of a tip. Make a shack, lean to, outhouse, type thing on your garage where the compressor is and put it outside the garage so the noise is outside,,,insulated well and even a light bulb keeps a small enclosure warm,,,depending on how cold you are there,,,maybe NOT in Alaska.But COULD still do it and heat that little place!!(If necessary to make motor start easier with stiff oil!!) Plumb the air inside (with black iron pipe)(glued PVC is an accident waiting to happen!!)a few places and you never knew it was so quiet and easy!!
justdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2007, 06:41 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 232
Rewards Points: 150
Default

240v Air Compressor to 120v help


Buy yourself a cheapie 110 compressor for that building. Sharing one only makes it in the wrong place every time you NEED it!!

Can always use THAT compressor for jobs away from home,they are light and MORE portable,,,specially for nailing guns etc.

Last edited by justdon; 09-08-2007 at 06:43 PM. Reason: add
justdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 08:25 AM   #8
Once fried, twice shy.
 
elkangorito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Thailand
Posts: 251
Rewards Points: 250
Default

240v Air Compressor to 120v help


You could buy a 'step-up' transformer. Assuming that the 'run' current of your compressor is 13 Amps and allowing for a 'starting' current of a minimum of four times the 'run' current, you would need to buy a 12kVA 110v to 230v transformer.
elkangorito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 02:34 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

240v Air Compressor to 120v help


Raucoltsnut:
Could you please do me and many more a favor and take a look at the tywo big capacitors for that C-MO-3013 MOTOR. One ought to be about a 25 MFD (millifarad) 370 VAC (volt alternating current) capacitor for running the motor. The other I badly need the info on should be again a MFD or millifarad capacitor. Please send and publish that info for both capacitors. This can not be found or gotten either from General Electric that made the motor, Craftsman who solf nor Devilbiss who made the compressor parts mostly. None of those companies do real customer service. They are jhust in the business of taking money. If you publish this info of the markings on the two capacitors it will likely help many people with the following motors who can not get this info

the 5KCR48SR59GW YOU HAVE
c-mo-3013
z-mo-3013
mo 6436 I have GE 5KCR48SR59W
MO 5500
and possibly even the z-d20659 replacement

I WOULD BE DEEPLY INDEBTED IF YOU COULD PROVIDE THE NUMBERS ON THOSE TWO PARTS and I believe many more in the future also will be too.
You could write me at benkohn@prodigy.net if you wish.

ben
Rustea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 02:55 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

240v Air Compressor to 120v help


Raucoltsnut:
Could you please do me and many more a favor and take a look at the tywo big capacitors for that C-MO-3013 MOTOR. One ought to be about a 25 MFD (millifarad) 370 VAC (volt alternating current) capacitor for running the motor. The other I badly need the info on should be again a MFD or millifarad capacitor. Please send and publish that info for both capacitors. This can not be found or gotten either from General Electric that made the motor, Craftsman who solf nor Devilbiss who made the compressor parts mostly. None of those companies do real customer service. They are jhust in the business of taking money. If you publish this info of the markings on the two capacitors it will likely help many people with the following motors who can not get this info

the 5KCR48SR59GW YOU HAVE
c-mo-3013
z-mo-3013
mo 6436 I have GE 5KCR48SR59W
MO 5500
and possibly even the z-d20659 replacement

I WOULD BE DEEPLY INDEBTED IF YOU COULD PROVIDE THE NUMBERS ON THOSE TWO PARTS and I believe many more in the future also will be too.
You could write me at benkohn@prodigy.net if you wish.

ben
Rustea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 04:05 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,860
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

240v Air Compressor to 120v help


Lets see, that was 3 years ago, he came to the site one time, and you ask for more info!!!!!!!

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting std 220v/60hz to Single phase 240V 3-wire jryali Electrical 19 03-23-2009 11:06 PM
Wiring 240v pump to generator - URGENT Benchr Electrical 4 12-19-2006 05:50 PM
30a 240v air compressor circuit crecore Electrical 2 09-21-2006 07:52 PM
240v electrical to unattached garage? alissakk Electrical 1 07-17-2006 04:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.