Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-28-2012, 09:31 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

12V 10A power supply???


Where can I get a DC 12v 8-10 amp power supply that plugs into a 110 outlet?

I have a ranch project that requires enough power to operate a 12 v motor (deer feeder motor). Usually these motors are powered by a 12v 8Ah battery. My project requires constant power to the motor. I need a power source that plugs directly into a 110 outlet that will push at least 8-10 Amps.

I have used a 2amp power supply but it is not pushing enough amps to the motor. The low amp is causing a delay and the motor starts off spinning too slow before it speeds up to its full capability. When I plug the motor to the 8Ah battery the motor fires up hard and fast. I need a power supply that will get the motor going immediately without delay.

...the motor is spinning small protein pellets...when the motor kicks off hard and fast the pellets are dispensed properly....when the motor has the delay and slowly begins to spin then the pellets jam the motor and the pellets are not dispensed at all....


thanks for your help!!!!

Zane Mason

zanemason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 09:49 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,546
Default

12V 10A power supply???


Use a battery charger.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
zanemason (02-28-2012)
Old 02-28-2012, 09:57 PM   #3
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,198
Default

12V 10A power supply???


Battery charger will do but you'll need to have it hooked up to a battery to trick it into charging mode otherwise it wont supply 12v. When the battery is fully charged then it will be supplying the power. A computer power supply will also work. You get ground, +3.3v, +5v +12v, -5v and -12v. Some of those terminals have more watts than others, but the 12 will definitely give you 10 amps or more.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power strip hack salex Electrical 3 01-31-2012 06:10 AM
AFCI Tripping with PC Power Supply jkma Electrical 0 12-21-2010 05:34 PM
house power supply upgrade in Australia pcd1965 Electrical 3 08-22-2009 08:17 PM
Arcade machine power supply runcmd3 Electrical 11 03-15-2009 06:44 PM
Need a new power supply Alan PC Repairs & Upgrades 18 06-15-2007 12:57 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.