1/2" Polyisocyanurate As Underlayment For Laminate - General DIY Discussions - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2010, 10:49 AM   #1
Here to Learn
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: cincinnati, ohio
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

1/2" Polyisocyanurate as underlayment for laminate


I was wondering if I could do this. I have a finished lower level in a split level house, and the previous owner just put laminate down on the concrete floor, with only 6 mil sheeting between concrete and laminate flooring.

I'm wondering if I can use 1/2" Polyiso as underlayment? It's rated for 25 PSI, which isn't a lot, but the laminate flooring over top of it i think would help spread the total weight pushing down on the polyiso.

I have a door that goes to the garage down stairs, so I can only go about .75" before I run into the bottom of the door. I'd like to stay well below that, and within height codes.

Is this feasible?

Advertisement

Hawss Drew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 02:59 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

1/2" Polyisocyanurate as underlayment for laminate


I don't think so. I would secure a plywood layer above and cut the door.
Ron

Advertisement

Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 03:13 PM   #3
Here to Learn
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: cincinnati, ohio
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

1/2" Polyisocyanurate as underlayment for laminate


It's an exterior door with weather stripping, I don't think I can just cut it.
Hawss Drew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 06:38 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

1/2" Polyisocyanurate as underlayment for laminate


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawss Drew View Post
It's an exterior door with weather stripping, I don't think I can just cut it.
You might be able to reset the whole door unit so the floor can be adjusted.
You can forget the whole, " raise the floor thing" and just put down an area rug to add some warmth underneath by isolating the floor from the feet.
You might be able to lay down homosote board over the concrete to isolate the floor. You would need to check with the manufacturer if it will carry the load without inordinate deflection.
Ron

Last edited by Ron6519; 03-02-2010 at 06:40 PM.
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
foil-faced polyisocyanurate in walls rmcfall Building & Construction 0 12-14-2009 06:05 PM
Underlayment dcf1999 Flooring 4 11-04-2009 11:26 PM
LAMINATE STAIR: with or without underlayment nathan.tran Flooring 1 08-19-2008 02:24 AM
Underlayment height for tile / carpet.... scheenstra Flooring 2 04-23-2008 01:12 AM
Subfloor / underlayment question... scheenstra Flooring 7 02-21-2008 08:39 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts