Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-02-2008, 03:50 PM   #1

Share |

workshop loft help needed

Newbie to the forum here. I have a project which I have been working on for a couple of years now and I sure wish I had known about this forum before!

The project is a 30 x 40 quonset hut in my back yard. It has been a long haul but the building is up and the electrical panel is hooked up as of yesterday. I am keeping the interior pretty simple. I am putting the utilities along the back wall. And above that, I am planning to have a storage loft.

So the back wall of the building is flat and about 30 feet wide. It consists of steel c-channel with colored steel panels on the outside. I have built a 7' wall along the back wall to have something to build off of. It is 2 x 4 construction, 16" OC. My plan is to have a few 4' walls projecting outward from the back wall to separate things like the toilet from the shower from the washer and dryer. I would like to run a support along the front of the walls - something like a glulam or ? so that I can keep the front of the utility area relatively open. So there is a full length 30' wall of 2 x 4 construction along the back, three or 4 4' walls projecting into the shop from the back wall.

What I would like to do is put a 30 x 6' platform over these walls. My first and easiest question is what size lumber do I need to support the floor of the loft? It will be supported 4' from the back wall and have a 2' overhang. And what spacing? I am planning on putting some fairly heavy stuff up there so it has to be strong but I dont want to overbuild it like crazy.