Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-19-2008, 08:39 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Wood Stove Installation


Hi.
I am installing a Franklin Stove in my house, in front of a window which I've already removed and filled the space with durock. Is there something else I should do there? What do I need for stovepipe? What does my clearance need to be from the house and above the roof? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

jfluhrer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 07:03 AM   #2
Member
 
47_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Springville, NY
Posts: 1,424
Default

Wood Stove Installation


Do you know the stove manufacturer? Many manufacturers have a web site which will list national codes for clearances to combustables for their products. I would go to a local stove shop, ask them these questions and purchase the duct work from them. Do not forget about the hearth. Do you have a permit?

__________________
What we've got here is... failure to communicate. Some men you just can't reach. So you get what we had here last week, which is the way he wants it... well, he gets it.
47_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2008, 07:13 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Wood Stove Installation


Thank you for the reply. I am not finding a manufacture stamp anywhere on the stove, but the blower is "MagicHeat". I contacted a fireplace business in my area, and they were most unhelpful. Perhaps I will expand my area to search for another. I would just as soon hire someone to come in and install it for me, but I also seem to be having trouble finding a business that offers that particular service.
jfluhrer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2008, 01:04 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 30
Default

Wood Stove Installation


type in wood stove installation clearances on your search engine and you'll find some good sites and info.
The duroc is suppose to have an inch air vent clearance between it and the wall. Then the stove has to be placed 8 to 16 inches out from the duroc and on a hearth and that spacing depends on your stove radiation rating.
I got the same problem trying to find the rating on an Aurora wood stove to see how close I can get to my walls.

Last edited by jehiatt; 11-27-2008 at 01:06 PM.
jehiatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OSB Stronger than Plywood? Weathermaker01 Flooring 15 12-22-2012 09:06 AM
Ready to paint the porch! Oil or latex? Leah Frances Painting 8 07-26-2011 07:29 PM
Do I need to replace a rotten sill plate met Carpentry 8 07-11-2008 09:14 AM
wood stove insert Karpol General DIY Discussions 5 11-25-2007 11:56 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.