Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-13-2011, 11:23 AM   #1
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,744
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Share |
Default

Window UNDER siding. How to properly replace?


There is no trim around the windows, the siding butts right up to the frame. What's the best way to replace the windows? Obviously i'll have to cut the siding to get the old one out. Peel and stick flashing, and then cover with trim?


__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 11:48 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Long Island
Posts: 348
Default

Window UNDER siding. How to properly replace?


do you have vynle siding? If so, peel off the first row above the window then remove all the ones under all the way to thier seams. Install window properly and re-install the siding. Your'll be surprised how easy it really is unless its on the second floor. Same thing, just harder.

II Weeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 11:57 AM   #3
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,744
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

Window UNDER siding. How to properly replace?


Quote:
Originally Posted by II Weeks View Post
do you have vynle siding? If so, peel off the first row above the window then remove all the ones under all the way to thier seams. Install window properly and re-install the siding. Your'll be surprised how easy it really is unless its on the second floor. Same thing, just harder.
Nope, it's T1-11 Siding.
__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 02:14 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Default

Window UNDER siding. How to properly replace?


Hard way; set all the nails in the sheet or two holding the window in, remove sheets, replace window, cut for and add head flashing, replace sheets. Easy way; measure old window width/height, compare to new window, measure new trim (suggest 2” width, cedar, prime all 6 sides/edges) width for around window, mark new window + trim width/height on T1-11- centering new size off old window, add extra ”room for head flashing at top, cut siding, remove wood, carefully remove window without damage to black paper, install window wrap per links, install window –checking for square and/or closing reveal, install head flashing per links (leave ” space above flashing to T1-11), install trim, caulk, paint. The thin width trim is to leave room for nailing the siding without missing the framing; 3” next to, 1-1/2-3” below, don’t nail through flashing underneath siding at head. Use hot-dipped galvanized nails for siding, glv. roof nails for window, set in caulking as per link.

Flashing; http://www.finehomebuilding.com/how-...x?nterms=63740
3” wrap at box stores; http://sunshinesupplycompanyinc.thom...o-wrap-company
Dam-off the ends of the head flashing, pp.8; http://www.mtcc1170.com/images/BCRainScreen.pdf

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 05:22 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Long Island
Posts: 348
Default

Window UNDER siding. How to properly replace?


what he said ^^
II Weeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 05:29 PM   #6
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,744
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

Window UNDER siding. How to properly replace?


My head flashing will have to be slid up into the underneath of the siding, right? How do I secure it there?
__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 05:33 PM   #7
old guy contractor
 
tcleve4911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Maine on Little Sebago
Posts: 857
Default

Window UNDER siding. How to properly replace?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan View Post
My head flashing will have to be slid up into the underneath of the siding, right? How do I secure it there?
don't really need to ...it's not going any place.
Silicone if you're worried about it.
tcleve4911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 11:57 PM   #8
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,744
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

Window UNDER siding. How to properly replace?


Quote:
Originally Posted by tcleve4911 View Post
don't really need to ...it's not going any place.
Silicone if you're worried about it.
Sounds great. Thanks

__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cost to replace window with french doors kimbur96 Building & Construction 35 09-02-2011 12:48 PM
Grant to replace w/vinyl window inserts. Worth it? dirtyp Windows and Doors 1 03-09-2011 06:41 AM
Rotted window frame bottom: Do I need to replace the whole window? Ginette Building & Construction 4 09-15-2010 08:52 AM
My window between siding and drywall... jamieofansa Drywall & Plaster 2 09-05-2010 08:55 PM
How hard to replace window screens? TomBrooklyn Building & Construction 4 01-04-2009 09:03 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.