Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-07-2009, 05:51 AM   #1

Share |
Cool

Window help

Hi there, I am a total newbie and I stumbled on to this site trying to figure out a way to select new windows.

I hope I am not violating the site's rules on my first post, because as background information, I feel like I do have to say that I've had a poor experience with the present awning/casement mix of windows I got stuck with from Superior. After 6 years, windows are falling off hinges, permanently stuck in one position, and cracked from a sudden gust of wind. Anyway, Superior refuses to address anything and I've decided that replacement parts are not the answer, because in another 6 years, I will end up with the same problem.

Company says the problem is that I live in Hawai'i and there is just too much salt in the air. Coated hinges and arms are rusted solid by now. Some windows with stainless steel parts are put together with galvanized screws, which I had no clue about, so those are the windows falling off the arms. I've never really liked the awnings anyway, because they only open about...what? 45 degrees? I'd rather take advantage of our cool trade winds.