Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread

Old 05-10-2012, 10:40 AM   #1

Share |

Where does everyone get supplies?

I will say up front I work in Marketing for ******************, Inc. I am not trying to sell anything to forum members, I am just trying to engage you to help me understand the DIY market better. I do my own DIY on my house when I can. Let me know if there is anything I can do to help as well! My first post

Old 05-10-2012, 10:57 AM   #2
JOATMON

I think the majority of us go to the big box stores...HD and Lowes....one stop for 90% of your needs....

I do have my specialty places....especially for stuff that HD does not carry...like some of the special Simpson hardware....

At the end of the day...price and convience are what determines what most of us buy....

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
Old 05-10-2012, 10:58 AM   #3

I usually get my stuff from Home Depot for 2 reasons. 1. I have a store credit card. 2. Its closer.

However, I will stop by Lowes and Ace Hardware every once in a while. I usually get my paint from Benjamin Moore, but have purchased Glidden and unfortunately, Behr....
Old 05-10-2012, 11:01 AM   #4

I agree, I use Home Depot quite a bit. Not sure I would go there for paint, but everything else. I have leftover paint to use on my home right now, but if I decided to repaint I would want someone who really knows paints. Do you find that Home Depot and Lowe's Employees understand specialized products? I rarely find someone there that is overly helpful, other than helping me find the right row for my items.
Old 05-10-2012, 11:05 AM   #5