Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-28-2011, 08:21 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 75
Default

What's the RIGHT way to do this? Slab/Siding connection


We moved into this house 4 years ago and since day one the area around the back wall has leaked. The wall was an "addon" to enclose a covered patio. 3 years ago we tried resloping the concrete in the area to help it drain away, but I think we worsened the situation. I'd like to know, if I had the chance to completely redo this area, how SHOULD it have been done? Grind the concrete down so it is sloped down, away from the house? Or bring the wall all the way out to the edge of the slab so water drains right off the siding?
Attached Thumbnails
What's the RIGHT way to do this?  Slab/Siding connection-p1010019.jpg  

bigburb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 08:33 PM   #2
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 7,735
Rewards Points: 2,466
Default

What's the RIGHT way to do this? Slab/Siding connection


Hey bigburb, there’s a few ways to deal with this. Could you post a picture of the entire wall?

__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 09:01 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 75
Default

What's the RIGHT way to do this? Slab/Siding connection


Surely. I took the doors out which is the reason for the tarp.
Attached Thumbnails
What's the RIGHT way to do this?  Slab/Siding connection-p1010021.jpg   What's the RIGHT way to do this?  Slab/Siding connection-p1010022.jpg  
bigburb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 09:19 PM   #4
Member
 
rock16's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 61
Rewards Points: 75
Default

What's the RIGHT way to do this? Slab/Siding connection


Have a Galv flashing made that goes up the wall 4'' slopes across the top of the concrete and goes down the face of the concrete 2''. Also have a door pan flashing made that incorporates this detail.
You will have to remove the bottom course of siding to tie this flashing into the WRB.
rock16 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rock16 For This Useful Post:
jomama45 (05-30-2011)
Old 05-28-2011, 09:35 PM   #5
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 7,735
Rewards Points: 2,466
Default

What's the RIGHT way to do this? Slab/Siding connection


The flashing as mentioned was my first thought and would work. I was hoping the wall wasn’t in as much of an exposed traffic area as it is.

If you don’t want it to look like a mistake you could build another wall out flush with the slab so the siding can lap over as it should be. The only interior issues would be wider window sills and door jamb.
__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 09:59 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 75
Default

What's the RIGHT way to do this? Slab/Siding connection


Ok well we are going the flashing route, it is cheaper and is going to take less time to accomplish (and less remove of existing windows). What should we seal the seams of the flashing with? Air duct mastic comes to mind, because we can slather it on rather liberally, but I'm not sure if its waterproof or appropriate for this situation.
bigburb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 10:10 PM   #7
Member
 
rock16's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 61
Rewards Points: 75
Default

What's the RIGHT way to do this? Slab/Siding connection


Quote:
Originally Posted by bigburb View Post
Ok well we are going the flashing route, it is cheaper and is going to take less time to accomplish (and less remove of existing windows). What should we seal the seams of the flashing with? Air duct mastic comes to mind, because we can slather it on rather liberally, but I'm not sure if its waterproof or appropriate for this situation.
This is good for your application:
rock16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 10:17 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 75
Default

What's the RIGHT way to do this? Slab/Siding connection


Hm it seems my local home depot doesn't stock the 15LM, all I see is SikaFlex SL Self leveling sealant, Sikaflex concrete sealant, Sikaflex mortar sealant, and Sikaflex construction sealant.
bigburb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 10:20 PM   #9
Member
 
rock16's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 61
Rewards Points: 75
Default

What's the RIGHT way to do this? Slab/Siding connection


Quote:
Originally Posted by bigburb View Post
Hm it seems my local home depot doesn't stock the 15LM, all I see is SikaFlex SL Self leveling sealant, Sikaflex concrete sealant, Sikaflex mortar sealant, and Sikaflex construction sealant.
I believe the concrete sealant is the HD version of 15lm. Make sure it is polyurathane.

The construction sealant should be 1A (wrong app)

Last edited by rock16; 05-29-2011 at 10:23 PM.
rock16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 10:22 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 75
Default

What's the RIGHT way to do this? Slab/Siding connection


yes it is poly, thanks so much for your help.
bigburb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 10:24 PM   #11
Member
 
rock16's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 61
Rewards Points: 75
Default

What's the RIGHT way to do this? Slab/Siding connection


Good luck
rock16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 08:37 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 75
Default

What's the RIGHT way to do this? Slab/Siding connection


Thanks, we successfully built the entire thing, flashing and integrated door pan. We're in a severe drought here so who knows when it'll get tested, thanks for the advice!
bigburb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 09:02 PM   #13
Member
 
Tom Struble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: west milford n.j.
Posts: 2,785
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

What's the RIGHT way to do this? Slab/Siding connection


the fc panel should be elevated off the concrete 2'' min
Tom Struble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 11:04 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 75
Default

What's the RIGHT way to do this? Slab/Siding connection


Quote:
Originally Posted by tomstruble View Post
the fc panel should be elevated off the concrete 2'' min
Even if I use hardie?

bigburb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dripping washing machine connection icespide Plumbing 4 11-11-2010 09:41 PM
3 way switch with pass through power connection issue ccmbee Electrical 2 09-28-2010 03:38 PM
Water softener connection question Aldyrin Plumbing 1 09-22-2010 10:30 PM
gas dryer connection question rvegab00 Plumbing 7 12-07-2009 11:53 AM
Telephone Jack Connection Problem jogan Electrical 9 04-20-2009 07:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.