Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-29-2012, 03:03 PM   #1

Share |

Whats involved with getting an engineer?

I have a small bathroom in an old house and I am removing a cast iron standard tub and adding a corner unit whirlpool tub. (~1000 lbs filled according to the manual.)

The current joists are 27" apart and 1 is rotted.

A carpenter friend suggested using LVLs instead of standard lumber as I only have 6.5" of height for new additional joists. The joists would be 82"

Another friend suggested getting an engineer to figure out whats needed.

What kind of money does an engineer cost to do such a service? and is it necessary?
Velvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 03:35 PM   #2
Civil Engineer

As an engineer, I like to push engineering services, but in this case you probably do not need one. A competent contractor with experience should be able to go to their favorite lumber yard and have them size the appropriate joists for your job. If the contractor is experienced enough, they may be able to size the joist themselves. Actually, they don't even need to size the joists, they just need to figure out the required spacing, which may be closer than the standard 16 inches on center.

Most structural engineers do not like to do residential work, myself included, because the average homeowner does not wish to pay what we think of as a reasonable fee (at least $500 is my minimum), and the work usually does not require engineering level analysis. You may also be able to get the building inspector to tell you the required spacing for the joists, but I think getting the contractor to desigh/build the job is the way to go.
Daniel Holzman is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Daniel Holzman For This Useful Post: