Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-15-2011, 08:18 PM   #1
Do it right.

Share |

What kind of stone under concrete slab?

I am getting ready to have a foundation poured for a garage this summer, I am new to foundations so I asked my building inspector what kind of stone I needed under the slab and the only response he would give me was "You figure it out" It would have taken him less effort to list the stone, but thats for another day.

Anyways, help is appreciated, I have come across a dozen different reccomendations on the internet and I don't know which is best.

SubSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 09:15 PM   #2

Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074

You do not want "stone", whatever that means in your area. Clean stone does not compact at all unless it is dirty or contaminated with finer materials.

You want a compacted base that is similar what is used under roads and driveways. He was correct in not giving you a specific material, but could have given you a specification to use when you buy or contract it.

Is it a "floating foundation" with thickened edges or is it a foundation of a stem wall on a strip footing with a true floating slab between the stem walls. Those are two distict types with plusses and minuses depending on what you climate and needs are.

You asked him a specific question for a material that is acceptable without any regard for how it performs or is installed. There is no one answer since you obviously do not have a real design/specification.

Dick

concretemasonry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 09:51 PM   #3