Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-25-2013, 10:10 AM   #1

Share |

Vinyl Siding Installation

The house is currently sided with T-111. It sucks and it leaks around nail holes. I intend to put vinyl on the house, since it is a simple DIY project and each panel doesnt weigh a hundred pounds. I intend to replace the really rotted parts (like where water damaged it by the hot water heater) and around both doors since its bad, and possibly a strip around the windows, all before the new siding goes on.

My question is, is the old siding sufficient to use as sheathing? If i wrap it with Tyvek paper, would it be sufficient to hold out water and to keep the new siding in place? Or do i need to remove all of the T-111 and replace it with OSB?
Im a complete newbie at siding, even though i know the basics of how to install it.

Old 01-25-2013, 10:34 AM   #2
Home Performance

Depends on condition, but most often you can go right over t-111. There are certainly some drawbacks (windows will look "inset", addressing of flashings, ect), but most commonly I see it gone over.

Old 01-25-2013, 10:37 AM   #3

most of it is in good condition. Like i said there are a few spots that are bad, like where there was water damage and around the doors and a few windows, but the majority of it is strong and sturdy.

One more question, when i put the top sill trim on the vinyl, usually you are supposed to put it up against the eaves, but my house doesnt have eaves. It has zero overhang, so can i caulk along the top of the top sill trim to keep water out? I know you are not supposed to caulk where panels meet or at corners but can i do it along the top edge where water will have immediate access?
Old 01-25-2013, 10:40 AM   #4

Got a picture of the outside?