Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-09-2013, 09:37 AM   #1

Share |

venting a wood burning stove.

Hi everyone I am new to this chat room so this question may be in the wrong category, but i'm not sure. I recently just purchased a house with a pole barn. I am planing on putting a wood burning stove out in the barn. i am just going to use the stove maybe 3-4 a week in the winter if that. I was wondering whats the rule or code for putting single wall stove pipe to vent the stove. How close can it be to bare wood. Is it better to run it out the wall or through the roof. If the pipe cant be close to the bare wood is there something that i can put around the pipe of wood to protect the wood. I really don't want to have to use that insulated pipe if i don't have to due to how expensive it is. Any advice hints or tips will be greatly appreciated. Thank you

golfthis1123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 10:08 AM   #2

I installed a wood stove in my pole barn and just went through the side to avoid any roof penetrations. I just stacked some 8" block around the wall and kept it a few inches away to retain some heat. Used it almost everyday for quite a few years. Just keep the pipe a few feet away from combustibles, and keep it clean. Be reminded that not many insurance company's will not cover you should a fire occur. This topic is covered in depth at the garage journal forum.

rustyjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 10:52 AM   #3

Home Depot has this class A radiant insulation called reflectix stuff it looks like aluminum foil. Can you wrap that around any bare wood that would be close to the pipe to protect it.
Old 11-09-2013, 01:57 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by golfthis1123 View Post