Venting Foam Board Insulation - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-14-2008, 11:36 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Venting foam board insulation

Friends,
Hi, I'm a newbie to the forum. Want to install foam board insulation on the underside of a sloped kitchen ceiling, then drywall over it. Room has been gutted so I'd be securing the insulation to the underside of the roof.

Do I need to allow 1.5" of airspace above the foam board insulation? Or can I secure it right to the underside of the roof?

If I need that airspace for venting, I assume I could secure 1x2s to the roof every few feet, screw the foam board to these, duct tape it all. Then screw the drywall through the foam board to the 1x2s to finish off the space.

Whattya think?

Best,
MB

Advertisement

mbscallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 09:47 PM   #2
ICF Construction

Rewards Points: 250

You need a little help but we need some more info.

You will need airspace

how much rigid insulation are you adding? R-30 means you need around 6" of foam (about R-5 per inch)

Are you filling between the rafters with the foam? if so run 1x2 on edge on both sides of the rafter under the deck, this will give you 1 1/2" airspace. Cut the foam snug to friction fit. last sheet can be placed on underside of rafters and use long drywall screws to secure drywall to rafters (not the 1x2's). DO NOT INSTALL VAPOR BARRIER (Foam acts as a vapor barrier itself).

OR

look at www.nudura.com and search for ceiling technology

Advertisement

Old 02-14-2008, 11:04 PM   #3

Chris,
Thanks for your reply--very helpful. I appreciate the reminder about not needing a vapor barrier--it's good to have that suspicion confirmed.