Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-28-2009, 09:04 AM   #1

Share |

Vapor Barrier Question

My house is on stilts, leaving the underside of the house exposed to the weather here in Central MA. The previous owner and builder did some pretty unorthodox things. I am just beginning to understand the magnitude of the problem.

The floor construction is as follows from top to bottom:

Pine boards
Plywood Underlayment
R30 Fiberglass between 2x10 joists
1" Polyiso foam insulation board
Plywood

Except for the foam, there is no vapor barrier of any kind. The fiberglass has kraft paper on one side but is otherwise unfaced. The foam insulation board is fully taped with tyvek at every joint making is basically airtight over the entire lower surface of the house.

I started taking the insulation down (pulling foam board and fiberglass down from the bottom of the house) because of some other work I am doing. I found that most of the floor joists and the plywood subfloor had mildew and water stains. I will post pictures when i get a chance but the majority of the stains seemed to start at the plywood subfloor joints (i.e. where two panels of subfloor but up against each other). The further down the side of the joist you go, the fewer stains. The fiberglass itself was dry and showed no signs of water damage or mildew.

A few questions:

1. Are the water/mildew stains the result of a lack of vapor barrier ? If so, why are the stains concentrated at the top of the underfloor cavity ?
2. What can I do to solve this problem that does not involve ripping up all my pine floors. In other words, how can I solve this problem from the bottom side of the house. Will a poly barrier on the lower side of the subfloor do the job ?
3. I plan to add plywood or chipboard on the bottom of the joists so that I have something that looks like this:

Pine boards
Plywood Underlayment