Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-12-2010, 09:08 PM   #1

Share |

Using Sketch Up to create framing plan

I had an architect draw up plans for my upcoming addition project, but she did not include framing plans, which are not required for permits.

I thought I would try to do the framing plans myself using Sketch Up, but I have no real experience with the program and most attempts have failed. Are there any good plugins for stud walls? Or any suggestions for a good tutorial on how to use the program? Any tips, hints or help??

stubits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 09:50 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?

I feel for ya guy. I could dig out the old drafting table and hunt up old drawing tools and still get done faster than using such a program. Wish I could help.

btw: if anybody really wants some fun and is into drawing, including 3D and animation, check out blender. It's a freebie . I know it has nothing to do with this thread or really the forum but thought maybe some of the more competent computer users might have a use for it.

http://www.blender.org/

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 09:51 PM   #3
Old School

Location: St. Petersburg, FL Minds of moderate caliber ordinarily condemn everything which is beyond them.

Yes, there is a very good plugin, HouseBuilder, that has many framing appliications. But if you aren't able to draw the stud walls already (a pretty simple task), using the plugin will probably be too much for you.

Last edited by Willie T; 04-12-2010 at 09:54 PM.
Willie T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 09:59 PM   #4

I don't use software for framing layout
I draw it up freehand or simply mark out where everything goes on the top & bottom plates
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 04:54 AM   #5

Thanks everyone.