Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-23-2011, 08:39 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 39
Share |
Default

Using a Ramset in old concrete


Hi,

I am putting a stud wall along the perimeter of my basement. I need to attach the sill to the floor. The concrete is 50 years old. A masonry bit wears out after about 2 holes.

I'm considering using a ramset ( fires concrete nails ). I'm wondering if anyone has experience doing this in old concrete. Do I need to worry about cracking the floor ?

Thanks.

Mike Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 08:46 PM   #2
DIY Hack
 
Mr Chips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 1,302
Default

Using a Ramset in old concrete


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Mike View Post
Hi,

I'm considering using a ramset ( fires concrete nails ). I'm wondering if anyone has experience doing this in old concrete. Do I need to worry about cracking the floor ?

Thanks.
i'd be more worried about fish hooking than cracking the crete. start with the lower powered load, like a green and see if that's enough. if not try a yellow next, don't go straight to a red without testing the others first

__________________
Those who can, do...
Those who can't criticize on the internet
Mr Chips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 08:49 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 39
Default

Using a Ramset in old concrete


Thanks, didn't even know about that. Never used one before.
Mike Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 09:50 PM   #4
remodeling pro
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,399
Default

Using a Ramset in old concrete


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Mike View Post
Hi,

I am putting a stud wall along the perimeter of my basement. I need to attach the sill to the floor. The concrete is 50 years old. A masonry bit wears out after about 2 holes.

I'm considering using a ramset ( fires concrete nails ). I'm wondering if anyone has experience doing this in old concrete. Do I need to worry about cracking the floor ?

Thanks.
Don't think you are going to have much luck with ramset in concrete that old.What are you using for a "masonry" bit and what type of drill? You will not succeed with the typical silver masonry bit or with a hammer drill or regular drill. Get a rotary hammer with a quality brand percussion bit such as a Hilti or Bosch then anchor the wall with split or deformed shank drive pins (they look like a fat nail with no point and have a kink in the shank).
After drilling the hole, you just drive them in with a hammer; a 2 or 3 pound machinist"s hammer works great for this, but a regular carpenters hammer with work ok.
troubleseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 10:05 PM   #5
Love for Construction
 
<*(((><'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 318
Default

Using a Ramset in old concrete


I just got done remodeling a basement with my brother and father. The house was built in the 20's and I'm not quite sure when the basement slab was poured, but it looks pretty old. We used a ramset with 2-1/2" nails with I believe green loads. It worked just fine, about 10-20% of the nails had to be finished off with a hammer, but I thought that was pretty good given the age of the concrete.

Some advice that seemed to help us is be sure to have the ramset pressed firmly down against the sill when you hit it with the hammer. Also try and eliminate any rocking of the sill plate by chiseling any imperfections, if the sill is tight to the concrete and the ramset tight to the sill, it works really well, even on the old stuff.

Good luck.
__________________
-luke-
<*(((>< is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 05:37 AM   #6
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,493
Default

Using a Ramset in old concrete


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Mike View Post
.....The concrete is 50 years old. .....
That's not old concrete

Here is OLD Concrete
.
Attached Thumbnails
Using a Ramset in old concrete-pantheon-1.jpg   Using a Ramset in old concrete-pantheon-2.jpg  

__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to PaliBob For This Useful Post:
tpolk (02-24-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To Keep Your Concrete Mixer Driver Happy Mort How To Guides 38 02-12-2014 06:25 PM
High Rise Building methods - US versus Oz - Steel versus Concrete Jado Off Topic 17 09-15-2011 08:47 PM
Tips For Pouring Concrete? Root issues? Thoughts? kronic24601 Building & Construction 5 02-14-2011 06:52 AM
How To Install Rigid Foam Insulation on Concrete earthad1 Building & Construction 9 10-26-2010 09:49 AM
new concrete floor next to old concrete floor mattroos Building & Construction 10 08-28-2007 01:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.