Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-07-2009, 01:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 10
Share |
Default

Unlevel Concrete Slab for Shed


Hi,

We have a concrete slab in our back yard, about 15' x 10'. I assume it used to be level, but I am guessing there was some settling underneath and now it is not level. I talked to one contractor who said the whole thing would need to come out and a new slab poured, but I am skeptical. Is there any reason you can not pour something like self-leveling concrete on top of this to level out the slab?

Osiris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 06:34 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Unlevel Concrete Slab for Shed


What you need to do honestly, is "cheat the trade". You need to call a few companies for "estimates", and each time they come ask that question, "Does the WHOLE thing gotta get replaced?" If you get plenty of yes's, then do it. If not, I would simply flash patch it with either hydraulic cement or see 10-60 or 10-61 Rapid mortar. The rapid mortar would be best b/c it allows you to do entire horizontal surfaces, and is used for strength gain.

http://www.buildingsystems.basf.com/...e.asp?prodID=1

Jamamros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 08:20 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Unlevel Concrete Slab for Shed


Quote:
Originally Posted by Osiris View Post
We have a concrete slab in our back yard, about 15' x 10'.
now it is not level.
You could roughen it first
http://www.csunitec.com/masonry-tools/scouring.html
and then put concrete on top, but I think the minimum thickness for a layer of concrete is 2".
You may want to embed wire screen in the new layer.

I have the same problem in my driveway but I need the edges of each slab to line up so I can't add thickness.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 08:24 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Unlevel Concrete Slab for Shed


How far out of level?
I think I'd either use as is if not too bad or build a level wood floor over it
Or build the walls to adjust to the dip
My old shed is not level
I made the mistake of making the new 10x10 addition level
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 07:42 AM   #5
Mold!! Let's kill it!
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,831
Default

Unlevel Concrete Slab for Shed


Dave asked the right question. How far out of level is it? If it isn't terribly far out, then compensate in the wall construction. Many shed/garage floors are poured with slope for drainage.
Maintenance 6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to cut a hole in a concrete floor slab tomseeley General DIY Discussions 7 06-10-2009 02:32 PM
Concrete slab unlevel... MT Stringer Building & Construction 14 10-26-2008 05:43 AM
Extending Concrete Patio Slab bobo Building & Construction 6 04-17-2008 12:17 PM
Filling hole in carport (concrete slab) chaddihimself Building & Construction 2 08-10-2007 12:50 PM
Concrete slab weeps moisture dale h Flooring 2 04-30-2005 10:29 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.