Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-15-2011, 12:12 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Twin Size Loft Bed construction.. for a dummy

Hello all! I am new to this online community, and though I fully believe and support and want to Engender the DIY attitude... my building skills are really ****ty! but I just moved into a new space and I am going to build myself a loft bed, even if it takes me 8 times as long as it should (which it will. well.)

so, before i have Specific questions, i have more general questions about the process

VISION/NEEDS:
I want to build a loft bed that is for a twin size mattress, that can easily support two people who are engaged in uh, "intense physical activity" haha, a term i've seen used on other sites. Basically I've found a lot of plans/talk of kid loft beds, but I need to know I am building a structure that won't collapse underneath me+1! Also, length wise I'd like the loft to extend for a couple more feet (past the mattress) to allow for some extra space. Underneath there is going to be my sewing area, but I'd love to build in some extra storage space such as drawers/shelves on one side of the loft to hold fabric/materials. The attached image link is an example of something like what i'd like to make.

QUESTIONS
1.) I have no idea how to approach thinking about how a structure can support weight/ how much weight something will support.
(I know cross beams strengthen, but I have through research on google now seen so many lofts that don't seem to have cross beams.)
What should I be thinking of? What should I know? Maybe, what are the basics to building this?

2.) I want it to be easily deconstructable, as I know myself, and I tend to move. So, a structure that can disassemble without damage to it would be ideal.

3.) I'd like to avoid drilling/bolting into the wall if I can. So, self standing would be the ideal as well.