Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-17-2009, 11:27 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Share |
Question

turn 2 bedrooms into 1


Hi i am wanting to turn my master bedroom and adjoining bedroom into a master suite. I need to know if there is software available to help with the planning as i will have to knock out almost 12 feet of a load bearing wall. Any help on this would be much appreciated.

alan.m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 05:44 PM   #2
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,770
Default

turn 2 bedrooms into 1


I'm guessing you're talking about structural software. Many local lumberyards can spec the beam for free as long as you buy the materials from them. Give that a shot first.

__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 06:42 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

turn 2 bedrooms into 1


Yes, engineering software is available
It's very expensive
I went to a name brand lumber company (NOT HD or Lowes etc) & they sized my beams for me. I didn't have to sign anything or buy anything at that time. It was actually several months later when I had all my plans done. I did go back to the same lumber company & buy the LVL beams from them
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 09:06 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Default

turn 2 bedrooms into 1


how about CAD?
My engineer friend use it for his computation and design...

it might be the one your looking for.
b3stcontractor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 10:03 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

turn 2 bedrooms into 1


A full version of AutoCAD is shockingly expensive, and is suited to drawing but isn't a specification software.

There is a reason that people use engineers for projects such as this. First of all, it will likely be required by the codes enforcement folks in your area. Second, the couple hundred bucks that you'll spend having an engineer review your project and specify a beam size will be a drop in the bucket compared to what making a mistake will cost. You must take a number of things into account, not just the size of the beam itself (point load transfer, interior braced walls if any, foundation capacity, etc). Putting your trust in someone at a lumber company is foolhearty in some cases, and this is one of them. Advocate for yourself and hire a professional engineer to help you out.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comfortmaker furnace won't turn on steelframe8459 HVAC 36 11-30-2011 03:22 PM
Pilot light button on furnace won't turn whydonchathen HVAC 5 10-05-2008 11:03 PM
Furnace w Cooling unit wont turn off Klatimer HVAC 2 09-19-2008 08:35 PM
hot water knob wont turn all the way cloud Plumbing 4 06-27-2008 08:19 PM
Faucet won't turn off etiger Plumbing 1 08-31-2005 02:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.