Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-11-2012, 07:15 PM   #1

Share |
Question

Trying to put a permanent deck cover on a 12' off the ground deck!

I am looking into the possibility of building a deck cover on my deck that is 12' off the ground! I don't think the deck was built with the intention of ever being able to support a permanently constructed deck cover. What can I do? I thought that I would just bolt/screw? 2x 4's into the brick of the house, place a ledger along that and go from there but the deck is 21' long (along the back of house) and 14' wide and I'm not sure that what I'm thinking will be sufficient. Can I simply add more weight capacity to the deck by adding 6x6's around the existing 4x4's under the deck? I am a novice at building and definitely want to do this safely! HELP!!! Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated! Trying to stick to a budget too!
Luvsrail890

luvsrail890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 08:07 PM   #2

Post a picture.
If it was built with 4 X 4's to hold up a deck that big and high it already was built completley wrong, post that picture so we can see what else is missing.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 10:30 AM   #3

not wise to bolt into brick or brick veneer. cannot handle the loads.

a few photos as joe said would help in getting some intelligent replies ....

"You get what you pay for, and sometimes free costs more!"
GBrackins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 09:16 AM   #4

Unhappy

Okay now I'm really worried about the deck!! The deck is five years old so I wonder if I can still go back to the company that built it?? Can the problem be fixed with just adding two by sixes around the 4 x 4?? I will try to attach pictures. Thanks for the feedback!
Old 09-13-2012, 09:25 AM   #5

Here are some pictures of the underside of my deck.