Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-13-2008, 10:54 PM   #1
Longtime DIY

Rewards Points: 10

Truss strength

A few years back I built a 36x60 pole building. I used engineered trusses spaced two trusses every 12 feet, clear spanning the 36 foot width and attached one on each side of 6x6 posts. The roof is about a 4/12 pitch with 26 ga.metal roofing. What I'm wondering is if there is any strength in a pair of bottom 2x6 cords so I could hoist a 55 gallon drum weighing about 400 pounds about ten feet out from the 6x6 post without additional truss support.

ageingrodder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 11:11 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 150

Truss strength

I'm Not an engineer by trade but I don't think that's a good idea. Trusses are designed for span, Load and ceiling weight ( sheetrock). Not lifting from. What you need is a Gantry to lift stuff like that.http://www.hoistsdirect.com/wallace_...FR30IgodKnbjgQ
I've seen guys walking on trusses and break them. All it takes is a bad joint and your going down. I walk em but I put scraps of Plywood under me to distribute the weight a little. It's still bad practice.

James Con is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 11:24 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 2,000

Truss strength

Hard to say for sure, but I'm inclined to agree with James Con. It would probably hold it, but in the event of snow load or a good stiff breeze the overall performance of the truss would probably suffer with the bottom chord load that wasn't a design consideration. That might mean problems, it might not.

Can you get ahold of the truss company that designed the trusses for you and ask them if you could add a shared 400 point point load at that location? They could probably calculate it pretty easily for you in their software.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 06:22 AM   #4
Mold!! Let's kill it!